IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: What can Lego Mindstorms teach us?
Topic Summary: Robotics design education
Created On: 13 April 2007 03:57 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 13 April 2007 03:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

deleted_ekoblentz

Hi all,

I'm an editor with an engineering magazine, currently researching for an article about the Lego Mindstorms robotic kits. I'm interested in hearing your thoughts about real-world engineering skills that students and professionals alike can learn by playing with the kits.

- Evan
 13 April 2007 08:23 PM

amillar

I have worked with school children on Mindstorms projects (for First Lego League) for a number of years now, I also have 20 years experience of running professional engineering design teams.

The more I work with Mindstorms, the more impressed I am with it. The original Mindstorms certainly had bugs, but they don't stop the children a) picking up its use quickly (very important) and b) then taking it on to very complex levels. I have recently recommended it to my local university for undergraduate robotics introduction, equally I know someone who uses it with infant classes!

In terms of real world skills, it does allow structured programming techniques, and certainly encourages problem solving. I haven't yet looked at NXT, but to make the original system work well then the use of feedback in the system was essential (otherwise your machine performs differently as the batteries run down!) which again teaches valuable lessons about engineering - for it to work reliably you have to allow for and compensate for its limitations.