IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: I'm a doctor, but want to be an engineer. A lot of people think I'm mad.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08 October 2013 01:52 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08 October 2013 01:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

mikeymms

Hello,

I have always been creative. I like to build things and I have a flair and love for good design. Solving mathematical problems, programming, inventing, sketching. I live and breathe these things and spend so much of my free time doing these things that I need to be dragged away a lot of the time!

Now here's the issue. I went into medicine with a lot of misconceptions, and I ignored a strong desire to pursue engineering by convincing myself (with more than gentle encouragement from my parents) that medicine was a good option because I would be solving problems in order to help people, with a stable and well paid job and even satisfaction with the engineering aspects if I were to become a surgeon.

I enjoyed the engineering aspects of medicine throughout medical school, and took a year out to do a BSc in biomedical engineering.