IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Finding a job in telecommunications/RF/Communications engineering
Topic Summary: Job seeking advice for a MSC graduate in the electronics and communications engineering field
Created On: 28 February 2013 07:00 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 28 February 2013 07:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Nahid009

Hi,

I graduated with an MSC in Satellite and Mobile Communications and am currently looking for employment in the related fields like RF/Telecomms/Wireless systems engineering. But during my search I have observed that these fields require years and years of previous experience and when I send off my CV detailing what I did at University I never get any response.

Therefore, I was wondering if anyone can advice me about how people start off getting a job in these fields i.e. RF design/testing/Telecommunications jobs when they keep asking for experience from applicants? Do they not provide initial training in the job? Why is previous experience required if thats the case?

I know there are graduate schemes but these don't seem like the best chance of getting a job. Are there any ways to gain experience in these fields to start off with? or Getting an entry level position and work your way up?

Thanks,

N
 28 February 2013 07:58 PM

MAWilson

I'm not certain my advice is current as I haven't been in the Telecoms industry for almost a decade and this was at the service engineering/technician level out of college but I think you should look at professional certifications like Cisco or Nortel (don't know how relevant Nortel is now, Motorola was catching on in mobile communications from memory). It might help with the requirements for experience.
 12 September 2013 10:37 PM

kairongurprem

Hi,