Increase font size
Topic Title: Spanish electrical engineer needing advice
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02 January 2013 09:50 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02 January 2013 09:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

David84

Good night everyone,

I come to you in search of some help and advice. I am an electrical engineer, I finished my degree in Spain over a year ago now and moved over to England with my wife. Since then I have been trying to improve my English and for a couple of months now I have been also looking for a job. I have applied for quite a lot offers now but I'm getting no answers back whatsoever. I have no true work experience but did work with a company for the degree's practicum for ten months, still no UK experience yet.

My questions are:
Will I need to register with a proffesional body in the UK to be able to work as an engineer?

Will I need to convalidate my degree to be able to work here? If so, is it done through Naric or which organization?

Would you please recommend me an effective way to search for a job? Even if it is a simple job like an assistant, I don't mind as long as I can start gaining experience.

And regarding the last question, do you think I could be elegible for an apprenticeship or that is just for newly qualified engineers?

I've got my CV translated to English but I'm afraid it has not been too helpful up til now, any advice on how to do my CV for it to be more attractive?

Any of the information you could give me would be truly appreciated, thank you very much in advance for your help.

David
 24 February 2013 10:05 PM

KBermokiz1

Hi David84,