Increase font size
Topic Title: Advice for electrical engineer new to UK
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11 June 2012 10:11 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11 June 2012 10:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Waeldu

Hello,

I have recently come to the UK with my British wife, I'm an electrical engineer with a background in construction and consultancy including lighting, power distribution, fire alarms, cctv.

Now of course I am looking for work in the same field here in London yet aware that my experience is not enough to even apply for work and this is becoming a concern.

I have tried to find information from agencies and other organisations in an effort to assist me but frustratingly no-one has been very helpful and it's got to the point where I'm just going around in circles - can't apply - don't apply - no interviews - no job.

I've seen various job advertisements specifying requirements such as 17th edition, Amtech, Dialux, British Standard etc. and realise that I should get training, but training in what? I don't think I can take 17th edition as I don't have 16th, Amtech has so many courses, not sure which one to take etc. etc.

Is someone able to advise what basic courses I should strongly concentrate on trying to enrol in so that at least I can then get the qualifications and hopefully be able to start applying for work here.

Very grateful for your response, many thanks!

Wael
 11 June 2012 10:48 PM

peteTLM

Welcome.
BS7671: 2008 amended to 2012 otherwise known as the 17th edition wiring regs. Get a copy and familiarise yourself with it. It has a smaller brother called the 'on site guide' which has more pictures and is more readable, and dosent go into as much detail. Get that as well.