Increase font size
Topic Title: Career help for Electronic Engineer
Topic Summary:
Created On: 15 September 2010 08:15 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 15 September 2010 08:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

rjc3656

Dear All,

I am looking for some career advice from fellow electronics engineers or others who have been in a similar position.
My background is in electronics and software design and I have worked in this field since leaving uni back in 2002. I have worked for 2 small sme companies in this time for 5 years and 3 years.
In the first company, I was basically taught on-the-job how to design PCBs, design and simulate electronics, coding in C and designing with microcontrollers and FPGA's. Working at a small company, obvioulsy I have been in many areas of development such as design, test, customer support. In my view I have a good range of skills and am very hands on.
Unfortunately due to the recession this company suffered and redundancies including myself were made.
My current situation is that I work for a mainly electromechanical company and after 3 years of being the electronics "expert" in this company I have decided to try to return to a more high-tech electronics company as some of the projects I have been working on are fairly basic in their electronic element and I would like to get back into microcontroller/FPGA design.
This is where my problems start. I have been to 3 interviews, with slight variations on electronics design engineer as their job titles, in the last 3 months and have made 2nd interview at 2 of them.
The feedback I have been given is that I give a good interview but I either don't have the correct level of experience or cant hit the ground running!
Neither level of feed back really gives me any clue to how I can improve myself.