IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Union membership for Software Engineer
Topic Summary: Which unions are relevant for software engineers and are they worth the money?
Created On: 01 September 2006 03:17 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01 September 2006 03:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

dgjones

I'm a software engineer and until very recently saw no benefit in me joining a trade union since if thought that I ever didn't like my working conditions I'd simply leave. Then, the company I work for got into financial difficulties, people resigned, there was talk of sueing and lawyers and I realised pretty quickly that I didn't know anything about my rights. A quick trip to the Citizen's Advice Bureau provided me with good advice (and I could have also called IET Connect if only I'd remembered it existed) but should there be any comeback I couldn't defend myself against company lawyers (not that I've done anything wrong, I might add!).

So, my questions are:

Does anyone belong to a union?
If so, which one?
And is it worth it, i.e. do they represent IT professionals well?

Dave

-------------------------
dgjones
 26 September 2006 03:54 AM

anguswm

Legal representation works both ways. It could be you in dispute with your employer, or someone you employ in dispute with you. You are also subject to a considerable amount of safety legislation, and could be prosecuted by HSE, Environmental Agency, DTI or other statutory bodies and enforcers. Representing yourself in a legal dispute is possible, but requires a considerable amount of experience and self confidence so is not suited to everyone, which is why Trade Union membership is useful.