IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: I'm an engineer get me out of here.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 20 June 2013 01:18 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 20 June 2013 01:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

amandalewin

Hi everyone.

I'm taking part in the event 'I'm an engineer get me out of here!' which is an online programme run over several weeks where students can talk to and question a variety of engineers.

Here is my profile http://detectionj13.imanengine...k/profile/amandalewin

Now the reason I'm posting this here is because they do different 'zones' and I'm in the Detection zone talking about my work designing fire alarm systems as well as general building services. They were going to run a computing one but couldn't because there was not enough interest. I thought this was a bit odd as there are loads of engineers that use computers or could link their work with computing.

I asked the people who organise is about their advertising method as I was only brought on at the last min and they said that because the 'zones' are sponsered by the STFC so the advertising has to be done through them so they are suitably represented.

So the point of my rambling is would the IET be interested in sponsoring an I'm an engineer zone?

I've been able to communicate with so many students just over the last 3 days (and the backlog of offline questions I have to answer is quite impressive too!) that I think it is proving to be a good way of promoting STEM.

-------------------------
Amanda

'At some point we all must chose between what is right and what is awesome'
 21 June 2013 05:23 PM

GJAMES

Hello Amanda