Increase font size
Topic Title: Power Factor Demo
Topic Summary: Basic power factor correction demo
Created On: 08 November 2013 10:54 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08 November 2013 10:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

lovinasdad

hello, this is the first time I've ever used a forum so please stick with me.

i'm building a power factor correction demo for a undergrad project. i'm starting off with a schematic drawing using multisim and basically I have a pretty good idea of where i'm going with this.

I don't however have a motor to test for the induction and resistance of the windings. so this is setting me back in even getting started. I was thinking of using a 1.5Kw single phase 2 pole motor. I also have a capacitor bank of 140mF.

as i'm a undergrad this is pretty new to me but I have worked in electrical industry for around 7 years.

as a basic over view of project.

AC in fuse, contactor, overload (capacitor bank switch in somehow still working on this) lead then to motor.

then a control side for the contactor with a push start and emergency stop.

this is to be contained in a metal cab.

I will then have a display to show power factor with it improving as the capacitors are switched in.

i'm sorry if this is vague but as I say writing and theory is pretty new to me. i'm better with tools then ink.

thanks I will keep everyone who follows this post up to date.
 09 November 2013 01:12 PM

dlane

Hi,

There are a number of books and data sheets out on the web that will provide you with details to work with.

Try and obtain a book called The Handbook of Electric Power Calculations published by McGraw Hill. That has a whole chapter on calculating equivalent circuits for single phase motors.