IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Funding Fourth Generation Nuclear Engineering Research and Development
Topic Summary: I have written an email to the State Nuclear Power Technology Corporation (SNPTC) in China
Created On: 13 July 2013 02:25 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 13 July 2013 02:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

jarathoon

The email was cc'd to DECC and to the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.

The content of the email is below...

I understand from the British media that your company is interested in taking a stake in the NuGen UK nuclear company owned by GDF SUEZ and IBERDROLA.

I am an Engineering Consultant and a member of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and wish to ask you for more information about your future investment strategy in the UK.

I would welcome a publicly articulated investment strategy from your company that had a slightly longer term view, and which involved concentrating on bringing new technological innovations to fruition for commercial roll-out starting in the mid 2030's. Examples of such a technology would be factory built Fourth Generation Small Modular Reactors, in particular Molten Salt Reactors.

I think it would be a great mistake for your company to get involved with trying to build existing 3rd Generation Nuclear Reactor designs in the UK. I think you will just be wasting your time, and risk reputational damage with little likelihood of building plants to time and to budget generating electricity in a cost competitive way to consumers. Inward investment from your company into the UK is much more likely to be welcomed by the public if it can be seen to be offering good value for money and with the likelihood of bringing household bills down as a result.