IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: EV RE-charger
Topic Summary: How to connect an electric vehicle to a syngas fuelled generator?
Created On: 29 August 2012 11:08 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 29 August 2012 11:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Caradog

Hello Renewable Energy experts,
I want to install an electric vehicle charging point to be supplied from our demonstration syngas- fuelled engine/generator. It is currently outputting up to 20Kw to a 3phase resistor load bank and I could do with some advice on a cost-effective solution:
Should I convert the 3phase output from the engine/generator to a single phase output - (I've never done this before but assume its just a case of changing tapping wires), or should I just take one of the three phases to the ev-charge-point (230V/16A required), leaving the resistor bank connected?
I suppose the alternative would be to use a 3phase to single phase converter but suspect that this could become very expensive (supplier recommendations)?
 30 August 2012 11:39 AM

aroscoe

What line-line voltage is your existing generator?

If it is 400-440V line-line (RMS) at 50Hz then in theory you COULD connect a single phase-neutral (assuming you have an accessible star point) to your single-phase EV charger, giving 230-240V RMS, with approximately 6-7kW (~28A) capacity on a single 230V single-phase outlet. This will operate.