Increase font size
Topic Title: Distribution Network Design
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07 August 2012 10:23 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07 August 2012 10:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

robertx

Hi All,
I am currently a trainee design engineer for a DNO (HNC entrant not graduate) and would be most grateful for any advice and guidance on where I could find out info on how the network works and how to read network diagrams. I've only been in the position a few months and am struggling to comprehend how the distribution network operates and the plant involved. My HNC/HND studies only covered this topic in very general terms so any DNO specific advice or pointers would be fantastic.
Many thanks
 07 August 2012 10:52 AM

ArthurHall

Robertx
I went into engineering through a similar rout to yourself. The lack of a degree should not hold you back at all, infact people with a more practical back ground often do better in a DNO than graduates.
I would be supprised if your company does not have some form of design manual which would pretty much descibe the design process. In addition many DNO's have a lot of material on the net, it's worth a trawl.
If you can find anyone who has done the power system protection course ask to borrow volume three it has chapers on rural and urban protection which explain a fair bit.
 07 August 2012 05:36 PM

robertx

Thanks Arthur,
Your comments are appreciated, I,m having trouble with some of the DNO jargon like "backfeeding" a circuit and also what is a "link box" and what is "phase out" I can make an educated guess at what they are but I'm not entirely sure.
 07 August 2012 10:18 PM

alanjhodgart

Hello Robert