Increase font size
Topic Title: PLC Advice
Topic Summary: Substation Automation
Created On: 16 July 2012 04:47 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 16 July 2012 04:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

martra

Hi,
Am currently studying at University and have some free time over the summer, so with this time am thinking about taking some plc training. I have done basic plc programming before when I was studying for my HNC with a Melsoft test rig at the college plus I used to be a panel builder so I some knowledge of control. But I was thinking with this time and a bit of money saved this would be a good thing to add to my CV. What am asking is this a good use of my time as am wanting to become a power system engineer and if so what package would be best to learn e.g. Siemens or Allen Bradley? I am of the understanding PLC and SCADA are now more widely used in substation automation and that's why am interested.

Many Thanks,
Martin
 16 July 2012 05:30 PM

ArthurHall

SCADA is widely used in substation automation now. However it often uses functions in the protection relays to interface, i.e. the relay acts as the PLC.
The main UK suppliers of relays are Alstom, Siemens and Rayrolle.
Having said that any PLC course would be a good investment as the principles are the same.
 16 July 2012 05:57 PM

martra

Thanks for reply, I've looked around and a local training provider does a training course with Siemens PLCs which could be worth a shout. Also i've see their are SCADA training courses but I would of thought that would have been a too big of a jump for me as i've had no prior knowledge of the subject.

Thanks Martin
 17 July 2012 08:06 AM

ArthurHall