Increase font size
Topic Title: 2V - 6V solar/wind systems
Topic Summary:
Created On: 27 December 2006 02:36 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 27 December 2006 02:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Mal Peters

Hi, this is my first time on the forum and am hoping someone could give me some guidance.
I am looking into a project concerning charging 2V to 6V cells (charging at nominal + 17.5%) using solar and/or wind.
I reckon that the solar source would have to supply eight hours (daylight) at 1A and the wind source a lesser current over a longer time in a 24 hour period.
My searching has revealed that there are bucket-loads of people who would supply me with something that would do the job with plenty to spare, but the wasted energy would have to removed (probably through some sort of resistive network) which would then produce unwanted and potentially wire insulation damaging heat in a small protective cabinet. Also, the costs have to be at the bare minimum therefore there is no desire to pay for unusable energy.
The sources would, in many cases be remote with no way to put any excess energy back into the network - not that it would be worth a great deal anyway.
Has anyone got any experience of such a product or advice to where to look?
Regards
Malcolm
 01 January 2007 01:39 AM

JonathanHill

Hi Malcolm,

If heat dissipation is a limiting factor, then I'd suggest you go for a solar system. Either select a "self regulating" type of panel or a standard panel with a regulator which switches off the charge current when the battery is charged (rather than introducing a shunt load).

Most small wind turbines I've come across are not suitable for running open circuit as very high voltages can result.