IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Leadership Training
Topic Summary: What are the points of pain?
Created On: 31 October 2005 09:13 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 31 October 2005 09:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

deleted_pgoddard

I have recently put together a 1 day Leadership workshop "Essential Skills for the 21st Century Manager", and am interested in developing this theme further. (Details at Link removed/21cmanager.htm )

Whilst my fellow trainer and I have extensive management experience, I am always interested in hearing other peoples perception of what the "points of pain" are in the management sector.

For me, I beleive that so much success today is dependant upon how we relate with others. As we move through the Knowledge Age, (pretty much all information that we require is now available at the few clicks of a mouse), we are now moving into a new age, the age of relationships. Sucess will now be about how people inter-relate, communicate, our effectiveness as leaders and communicators.

So... What are your thoughts, your stories that maybe illustrate these points? I am particularly interested in any stories you have that illustrate how miscommunication, assumptions and misunderstandings can cause not only undesired results, but sometimes havoc in the workplace.

Thanks.
Phil Goddard.
Leadership Trainer & Life Coach
Link removed
 01 November 2005 12:57 PM

deleted_pgoddard

Aha - Presentations. Oh dear, just the word sends shivers down my spine. All too often I have seen people use the likes of Powerpoint as a prop, to hold them up.