IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Help required for dissertation: Permits on Low & High Voltage systems
Topic Summary: Permits used on Low & High Voltage systems
Created On: 11 August 2011 01:04 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11 August 2011 01:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

ChristopherKelly

I am currently writing my degree dissertation on electrical infrastructures and need some help with permits.

I work as an operations engineer within the NHS and undertake Low & High voltage AP duties, and I need to compare the NHS permit system with permit/permission to work systems in other organisations or industries.

Could anyone help?
What I need is information regarding what permits are used and under what conditions they are issued.

Example of NHS (HTM) permits:
Low Voltage permits and forms:
Certificate of authorisation for live working,
Isolation and earthing diagram,
Limitation of access,
Permission for disconnection of electrical services,
Permit to work,
Safety program

High Voltage permits and forms:
Isolation and earthing diagram,
Limitation of access,
Permission for disconnection of electrical services,
Permit to work,
Safety program,
Sanction for test

Before any work which will interrupt a department or ward has started, a Permission for disconnection of electrical services permit is signed by the person with responsibility for the area involved in the work. This confirms that the electrical supply will be interrupted and nothing critical will be left without power unexpectedly during the work.

A Safety programme is produced to give each step of the process to make the item to be worked on safe and unenergised.

A Isolation and earthing diagram is then produced to visually indicate the isolations which will be made by the end of the Safety programme.