Increase font size
Topic Title: Making an employee redundant
Topic Summary: What's the proceedure please
Created On: 26 June 2009 12:00 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 26 June 2009 12:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

ady1

Hello,
I wish to sack my apprentice, for a whole load of reasons, but as i am basically a sole trader, i maybe haven't followed all the correct proceedures required to be able to sack him.
It appears that it would be better for all if i made him redundant instead, as i am also rather slack at the moment.
Do you agree with my thinking and what is the proceedure please ....?
2 weeks notice ?
holiday entitlement ?
etc etc ?

thanks
Ady

-------------------------
Resistance is futile.
 26 June 2009 09:39 AM

amillar

To make him redundant you need to be really sure that you haven't got work for him to do: if you make him redundant and then immediately take on someone alse to do the same work he may have a case for unfair dismissal.

You may find some useful advice here: http://www.businessballs.com/e...tionletterssamples.htm here: http://www.redundancyexpert.co...ry-redundancy-pay.html and particularly here: http://www.businesslink.gov.uk

If you want to fire him you need to give clear reasons and, unless he has been 'grossly negligent' (e.g. nearly killed a customer or stolen company money), give him a clear chance to improve which would normally involve verbal and written warnings.

Andy Millar CEng MIET CMgr MCMI

http://www.linkedin.com/in/millarandy

"The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress." Joseph Joubert
 26 June 2009 07:35 PM

ady1

Thanks Amillar
Thats good solid advice and thanks also for the links.
I have done the written and verbal warnings and yes he is a danger to the public and himself.