Increase font size
Topic Title: research project ideas?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 26 September 2013 10:52 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 26 September 2013 10:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

jimflounders1984

Im about to start my research project for my final year of my foundation degree in electrical/electronic enginerring and I am struggling for inspiration on what to research. Our first year was pretty much all theory and i have very little hands on experience in the electronics field. Any ideas/advice would be greatly appriciated
 26 September 2013 12:44 PM

jarathoon

Thought 1: Building an electrical model of a neuron.

A widely used engineering model for a neuron is the McCulloch and Pitts model. There are others, but none seem to be a that good a model for a real neuron.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Artificial_neuron

Can you review the current state of the art and come up with or improve on an alternative electrical circuit model for a neuron that you can build and test electrically. Is it possible to build one that shows a much greater resemblance to the properties of a real neuron, than the McCulloch and Pitts model?

See for example
"An Introduction to Neural Computing", by Igor Aleksander and Helen Morton

"The Computational Brain", Patricia S. Churchland and Terrance J. Sejnowski

If you are not interested in investigating biological analogies then there are plenty of more mainstream topics.

Thought 2: One of the interesting things I used to play with is putting a magnet on an electron beam oscilloscope.