IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Advice on Year In Industry or Masters?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 13 June 2012 10:54 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 13 June 2012 10:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Mawdsley87

I have currently just finished my second year of my BEng Electrical Engineering degree and have been accepted onto a year long industrial placement which is due to start late August/early September. However I am a mature student and I am nearly 25 would the extra year be better spent doing a masters degree as I aim to become chartered or would employers prefer the experience that the year in industry provides?

Before going to university I did complete an apprenticeship and became a qualified electrician and have several years work experience in this field. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
 27 June 2012 04:16 AM

jwong

Is your industrial placement with a well recognised company with a structured training program (rather than a company just looking for some cheap labour)? The industrial placement has the advantage of work experience as well as providing you with some income. Also they may offer you a permanent job later on.

When you are asking about doing a masters degree, I am assuming you mean taking an MSc (or equivalent) after you have got your BEng rather than the choice between BEng / MEng course. In the case of the additional MSc, you may also want to consider your personal finances as you will need to fund the MSc yourself and on a full time course you will unlikely have a source of income other than from part-time jobs.

On getting industrial experience... You can also apply for placement schemes that only run through your summer holidays.

Not sure if I have been helpful but good luck in your chosen route.

Jason.

-------------------------