IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Advice on becoming an electronics engineer.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 17 April 2012 10:58 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 17 April 2012 10:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

notepad2608

Hello,

Does anyone have any suggestions on possible routes into a career in electronics engineering?

I am a physics graduate so I would like to do an MSc in electronics or perhaps embedded systems.

At present my personal circumstances mean I can't give up work to study full time and my current employer wouldn't allow day release to study part time as it is not relevant to their work.

My plan is to gain a qualification, of any standard, via evening/distance learning that will allow me to get a job within the electronics industry relatively quickly. Once in the industry I hope it will be easier to negotiate day release to study an MSc.

Any suggestions or comments would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
 27 April 2012 02:43 PM

Gozza

This is quite a tough question to answer as electronics engineering is very broad and covers many areas and industries.
Do you have a particlar interest/understanding in an area of electronics engineering? Such as:

Embedded programming/Software programming in C, C++, C#, Linux etc
Digital circuit design, PCB layout
Signal theory/analysis
Audio electronics
Machine vision
RF electronics

Just to name a few of the many areas.

I'd say one option is to get into is PCB design and layout of simple digital circuits. You can do this as a technician, which will provide you with time to then get your engineering MSc.