Increase font size
Topic Title: DSP employability prospects
Topic Summary:
Created On: 31 January 2012 07:31 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 31 January 2012 07:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

basilio

Hi to all of you! I have a Bsc on electronic engineering and I'd like to attend a master course on DSP but as I have noticed, there are too many universities in England offering such a course, subsequently too many DSP engineers are going to exist in the marker during the next years,
so I suspect the competition will be huge in the dsp market.

What's your opinion on the DSP employability prospects during the next 5 years and what university has the best reputation in the market regarding
the DSP field?

Thank you.
 31 January 2012 12:02 PM

amillar

There's basically two types of electronic circuit: signal processing and control. Signal processing is and always has been about 50% of the field (at a wild guess), and there's no reason to believe it won't always be like that. So if you want a career in electronics it is ideal if you know a lot about DSP.

Whether a Master's is the best way to get this is a different question. Speaking personally I don't find Master's degrees in engineering very useful regarding employability. When recruiting design engineers I have only once recruited a Master's graduate, and that was for a very specific mathematically detailed role (she was also working on her PhD).* For a general DSP design role I have found that those with a first degree have quite enough basic skills, and do not have what I can only describe as an over-academic focus that can come with further degrees.** What is far more useful is work experience in the DSP field.