Increase font size
Topic Title: Circuit Help
Topic Summary: help with a circuit i am working on
Created On: 23 February 2010 10:59 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 23 February 2010 10:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

zhassan11

Hi everyone

I am an electronic/electrical engineer and i am currently working on a circuit and i am facing some difficulties with it.

If someone can help me i can email them the circuit design and an explanation of the problem in more detail.

the circuit is basically a 12V DC to 700VAC convertor, the problem i have with the H bridge is the two top IGBTs keep blowing up, i control the H bridge by using a 555 timer and NOT gates.

Three prototype's seem to work ok, However i could not get the fourth or the fifth prototype to work.

The problem seem to be two top IGBT gate signal's appear to be a saw tooth instead of HV square wave signal , i replaced the IGBT's with NPN's and the H bride start to work and generate 700 square wave signal but the two top NPN's start to get hot.

i need to understand am i deriving the H bride in a wrong way ? why the only first few prototypes work ok?

I would appreciate any help thanks,

if anyone can help can you please get back to me on this email: zhassan11@hotmail.com or you can PM me.

Thanks
Zahra

Edited: 24 February 2010 at 12:05 AM by zhassan11
 24 February 2010 11:03 AM

amillar

How are you making sure that the top and bottom (high-side and low-side) transistors are not turning on at the same time? Because of the internal capacitances in the devices they will not turn off immdiately, so unless you put in a delay between turning one off and the next on there will be some overlap.

The other big problem can be getting enough drive current into the gates/bases to ensure that they switch cleanly.