Increase font size
Topic Title: Open University Engineering
Topic Summary: Engineering Mathematics
Created On: 14 February 2010 06:03 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 14 February 2010 06:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

paulskyrme

Neil,
I did my BSc(Hons) & MEng witht the OU.
I had done an apprenticeship with C&G then an HNC after this before my OU study.
Please talk to the OU, face to face if possible, go to a couruse choice event.
I spoke to the regional head of technology on a 121 basis.
I explained my background and his words were "p**s" off over there do M101, & MST204 then come back to see me!
So I did, we became good friends & I am still in touch with him now, he has left the OU as have I, and he was an honest & valuable guide through my study.
See also OU recognition leaflet 3.3 (unless the no. has changed!)

PM if you want to discuss further, always will try to help anyone who genuinely wants to better themselves.

I was geniuinely sat here a few minutes ago reading some other stuff and came to the decision I REALLY WANT to do a PhD, but how and in what I don't know, but I finally decided tonight that I want to.
Next, how to afford it, in what, how, and how the heck do I fit it in with running my own co 70+ hrs per week!

HTH

Paul
 14 February 2010 07:42 PM

westonpa

I also did the M101 which covered general maths and did the summer school as well. I did look at the OU again a few years back but thought their 'project' options were a bit limited and preferred the wider variety offered by the universities. There are an increasing number of universities which offer distance learning degrees and thus you should search around and consider them all. Check the OU credit for previous study pages and you will be able to work out the extra study required for one of their degrees.