Increase font size
Topic Title: Port Forwarding
Topic Summary: Replacing a Communications Concentrator
Created On: 05 July 2010 02:56 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05 July 2010 02:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

romanpk

Hi all

Looking for some general advice as I am not a networking expert (tend to hang out in control & automation).

I will try and explain my quandry as clearly as possible

I have an existing facility with several machines connected to a PC to control them via a fieldbus known as Interbus. The connection to the PC is via what is termed as a COP card. On the PC we have a software suite running to control these machines (four per COP card). Communication comes from the host system over TCP/IP with each machine assigned an individual port number on the PC IP address, so the host can send individual message to each machine and the machine can report back its status, errors etc etc.

We are undertaking upgrades from the PC control (due to unsupportability) to PLC control which works well and we have already completed a few of these. Each PLC has a Comms card and can control up to two machines, so we have to get changes made at the host level to split machines on new IP addresses, as this is usually a prolonged commissioning period we have to keep swapping between the old and new system, and each time have the host modified.

This works fine when the host is our own, but has proved more difficult with third party host suppliers, some of which no longer exist.

So to the question, which I think would work but am looking for clarification before putting in more effort.