Increase font size
Topic Title: Comms in the Oil and Gas Industry
Topic Summary: Oil and Gas Industry
Created On: 03 July 2010 01:02 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03 July 2010 01:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

bigbri

Can anyone help?,

I am due to leave the Royal Navy Submarine Service as an Electronics Engineer. I have a BSc in Engineering, Cisco CCNA, 17th Edition wiring regs, and a Graduatship In Leadership and Management (and 22years in Engineering).

Does anybody out there work in the Oil and Gas industry who knows what opportunities lie out there for a chap like me, with the above experience/quals.

All I keep hearing is doom and gloom in the industry and how difficult it can be to get in.

Surely a chap, like me, used to working in harsh environments could get a foot in the door. I understand there are all sorts of Technician type jobs out there, but find it difficult to get anyone to part with this information, oil related.

Even considered ROV pilot/Technician, but that has even more Doom and Gloom attached to it !!!!

Any help would be greately appreciated,

Thanks, and regards,

Brian
 29 July 2010 12:55 PM

heatonr

Brian,
- I don't know if this will help but you might consider Amerada Hess. I believe they use radio comms extensively
- As you probably know most of the industry operates from Aberdeen, so searching around that locality might make sense.

(http://guide.agiweb.org/employ...nyID=1144&Category=PI

http://www.independent.co.uk/n...ada-hess-623770.html)

Regards & good luck
Rob H.
 25 August 2010 04:36 PM

StuartFawcett

Cisco CCNA should be a good start in the UK, i know we are interested in these skills.

-------------------------
StuartFawcett
 08 September 2010 08:36 PM

dankss