IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: MEM Glasgow switch fuse & multiple lugs
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10 August 2014 09:10 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10 August 2014 09:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Smith249

Posts: 362
Joined: 09 September 2004

Guys, got an installation that has 100A SPN MEM Glasgow switch fuse as the main switch. It comes out of the meter, into the switch fuse and then onto the DB.

I want to add another DB next to the current one. The lug studs on the MEM main switch outgoing terminals are about 25mm long and plenty of wire room adding another set of lugs would still leave loads of thread left for the nut.

Is this considered rough having more than one lug on the stud? I don't want to fit Henley blocks as its all currently in steel trunking and would look much neater without them, also bus-bar chamber would be OTT

Thanks.
 10 August 2014 09:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for leckie.
leckie

Posts: 1872
Joined: 21 November 2008

Well I reckon it's fine. But others might not so we had better wait for the debate before deciding. To me, two lugs together under a big bolt is not an issue.
 10 August 2014 09:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



prophet

Posts: 240
Joined: 09 October 2011

Well whether rightly or wrongly i have done it.

If possible i'd have the lugs the other way round to each other (so the flat sides are together).

Tom
 10 August 2014 10:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for slittle.
slittle

Posts: 3550
Joined: 22 November 2007

I'm with Tom, seen it and done it from time to time. You do need the flat sides together otherwise the lugs tend to rotate but there should be enough room in a MEM switchfuse to achieve it

Stu
 11 August 2014 12:17 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message



industryspark

Posts: 559
Joined: 23 October 2006

Seen it done lots of times and have done it myself.....i actually know of a switchfuse with 4 lugs on the stud which has been operating fine for 12+ years.....

Nothing wrong with double lugs although i admit, 4 is pushing it!
 11 August 2014 02:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



burn

Posts: 125
Joined: 06 June 2003

Its fine. How else would you use parallel sub main cables?

burn
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.