IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 2 Way dimming
Topic Summary: ?????
Created On: 08 July 2014 08:54 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08 July 2014 08:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Ampman

Posts: 1009
Joined: 06 February 2006

Evening ,

I have to wire a kitchen & customer wants 2 gang 2 way dimmer switching LEDs .

I would normally just fit the dimmers one end of the 2 way & wire the 2 way as normal .

Any body done it ? how did you wire it ? What make of dimmers ?

Regards

Gary
 08 July 2014 09:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



DOUGIE1000

Posts: 4164
Joined: 13 August 2005

Virilight do a good all rounder LED dimmer.

Just wire as normal. Some dimmers do a slave unit instead of normal traditional 2way wiring.

-------------------------
Dougie
Power Plus Electrical.co.uk

My mission is to live as long as possible......so far so good!
 08 July 2014 09:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for mapj1.
mapj1

Posts: 2651
Joined: 22 July 2004

Normal dimmers are not dimmable from more than one place, if he really wants it then you need the kind where up and down buttons connect to some 'power control' block. The up and down buttons from multiple places are then connected by signalling cabling, in the simplest way in parallel, and in more complex systems to some sort of digital bus, or by radio or infra-red.
Its quite a dear do just for one or two fittings.
Lutron for example do what they call multi-location dimmers, some of which are actually wireless actuators, so there is no wiring but some batteries at the switch(es) and a receiver that wires in to the lamp. I'm sure I-light and others do similar
http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Te...e/Sphere_Catalouge.pdf are by Schneider, and are another example of the genre, and available through TLC.

I think you'll need to do a bit of background reading though as options are many and various.

Equally, we manage at home with a dimmer at one end of some 4 core and a 2 way switch at the other.

-------------------------
regards Mike
 08 July 2014 09:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for tomgunn.
tomgunn

Posts: 3228
Joined: 25 May 2005

Just make sure the dimmer will dim the LEDs... sometimes you need to put a GU10 in the lighting circuit so that the dimmer will be able to work... I had a strange one the other week... I did post about it... I fed one 4g x 2w switch with just strappers going to the other 4g x 2w switch... i wont do that agin as the LEDs sometimes take a fraction of time to work... not too sure if thats normal or not as I feel LEDs are somewhat newish... anyways.... good luck!

regards... Tom

-------------------------
Tom .... ( The TERMINATOR ).

handyTRADESMAN ... haha

Castle Builders

Why did Nick Clegg cross the road? Because he said he wouldn't!

I can resist anything..... except temptation! ( Karl Gunn ).
 08 July 2014 09:28 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for rocknroll.
rocknroll

Posts: 8838
Joined: 03 October 2005

Fairly straight forward and not that technical, just use a master and a slave, here is the details and wiring diagrams.

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Te...stems/TouchRemote.htm

regards

-------------------------
"Take nothing but a picture,
leave nothing but footprints!"
-------------------------
"Oh! The drama of it all."
-------------------------
"You can throw all the philosophy you like at the problem, but at the end of the day it's just basic electrical theory!"
-------------------------
 08 July 2014 09:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for colinhaggett.
colinhaggett

Posts: 362
Joined: 08 July 2004

Really depends on the make of the LED lamps. I tend to now use Megaman GU10 ones, which dim really well with Varilight LED dimmers pretty much like normal GU10 lamps. As above they also do a master and slave touch dimmers which aren't silly money.
 08 July 2014 09:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for colinhaggett.
colinhaggett

Posts: 362
Joined: 08 July 2004

Originally posted by: rocknroll

Fairly straight forward and not that technical, just use a master and a slave, here is the details and wiring diagrams.



http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Te...TouchRemote.htm


Until LED's are involved!


regards


 08 July 2014 10:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for dickllewellyn.
dickllewellyn

Posts: 1150
Joined: 19 March 2010

Danlers do a master and slave set up, but the last time I tried them on Megaman GU10s it wasn't too clever. I met a rep from Hamilton last week who was raving about their new LED dimmer, and I seem to recall he mentioned slave units too. I can't be sure though, so no promises I haven't made that up. Megaman lamps do seem a little bit fussier than most as to which dimmer they will work with.

-------------------------
Regards
Richard (Dick)

"Insert words of wisdom and/or witty pun here"
 08 July 2014 11:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



alancapon

Posts: 5761
Joined: 27 December 2005

I used Danlers dimmers in my lounge. They are available as "leading edge" or "trailing edge" dimmers. Both types support slave switches, which is basically a push button (in the same style) that is connected using only two cores. You can have as many slave switches as you wish, they are all connected together in parallel.

Regards,

Alan.
 09 July 2014 08:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Ampman

Posts: 1009
Joined: 06 February 2006

Ive first fix it today ,

Ive wired a feed to the switches , 3 core between switches & switch wire up to lights from the 1st switch which has the feed in it .

hope it operates ?

I may just still put switch one end & dimmers the other .

Is it me or do people expect us to no everything about everthing ?

Im want to use the JCC 6 led dimmable downlights , anybody had issues with these when 2 way switching ?

regards
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.