IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Instrument supply cable voltages from MCC
Topic Summary: Can 110 and 230 share the same cable
Created On: 27 February 2014 09:35 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 27 February 2014 09:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



scottri

Posts: 3
Joined: 11 February 2009

Hi,

I have relatively low power instrumentation mounted away from our main control panel that is grouped together, but the A.C. supply requirements are 110Vac and 230Vac.

To minimise cable runs we could like to know if we can supply both voltages, from our CP, from individual cores sharing the same cable (in an industrial plant application).

Please let me know.

Many thanks...
 27 February 2014 12:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for zeeper.
zeeper

Posts: 1409
Joined: 11 July 2008

reg 521.7 does allow this. conductors have to be insulated for the highest voltage obviously.
 27 February 2014 01:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



scottri

Posts: 3
Joined: 11 February 2009

Many thanks zeeper...one of these days my company will pay me to sit the 17th ed...
 27 February 2014 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OMS.
OMS

Posts: 19628
Joined: 23 March 2004

It is allowable, but my only reservation would be of isolation - you would need to be pretty certain when it comes to labelling or physical switchgear that all live conductors in the cable were isolated if/when required

Regards

OMS

-------------------------
Failure is always an option
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.