IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Cooker Isolator
Topic Summary:
Created On: 24 February 2014 07:53 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 24 February 2014 07:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



TopTrumper

Posts: 172
Joined: 22 July 2006

Hello All,
just rewired a kitchen, 2 new circuits...
A socket radial circuit...And,
There is a double oven, on one side of the kitchen, and a hob on the other side, I wired this as its own ring circuit, on a 32amp breaker..
I put the double oven on a socket, and the hob with a low level cooker unit, I never put an isolator for this, can somebody point out if this is needed...thanks
 24 February 2014 08:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 2898
Joined: 09 September 2005

Seems a strange way to rewire a kitchen after going to all that trouble. Why not just do it properly. What size is your radial ?


Gary

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 24 February 2014 08:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



peteTLM

Posts: 3217
Joined: 31 March 2005

why did you put the double oven on a socket if its on a dedicated circuit? and why a ring for 2 points? No 4 or 6mm available in your part of the world?????

What hobs can be run off a ring circuit????
What size are the hob and the oven then?

-------------------------
----------------------------------------
Lack of planning on your part doesn't make it an emergency on mine....

Every man has to know his limitations- Dirty Harry
 24 February 2014 08:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



TopTrumper

Posts: 172
Joined: 22 July 2006

Gary, radial is 2.5mm, not really supplying much...
I know what you mean, reason for this was believe it or not, ease of cable from one side of wall to the other, proper concrete walls and floors, i always put 45amp dp switching, but in this case, it never went in....
Its on its own mini fusebox, with dp isolation, so i ask again, is it needed?
 24 February 2014 08:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



TopTrumper

Posts: 172
Joined: 22 July 2006

Pete, have a look at follow up answer...I have wired hundreds of cooker radials, but this particular one went in as a ring, without boring you why it went in like that, it just did, its just a bog standard double oven and 4 ring hob
 24 February 2014 08:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Crazycolours

Posts: 77
Joined: 05 September 2013

Hi TT,

Yes, it is needed as a matter of good practise and also 7671 - 537.2.1.2. Of course this will probably lead to a debate about the ambiguity and interpretation of the Regs. But, in my defence it is also in the OSG page 45 - 5.1.1. iii. for every item of equipment.

Regards, C.
 24 February 2014 08:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



TopTrumper

Posts: 172
Joined: 22 July 2006

Anybody?
I always put in an isolator without fail, and i know about the 2 metre good practice rule, but fusebox is 4 metres away, im just wandering if i can get away with it, I cant see anything in book that says you must have it.
 24 February 2014 08:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



TopTrumper

Posts: 172
Joined: 22 July 2006

crazycolours i have read page 45, and like i say, there is dp isolation on its own fusebox. it does not mention anything else
 24 February 2014 08:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



peteTLM

Posts: 3217
Joined: 31 March 2005

So the 4 ring hob is on a 2.5mm ring??

The others replied while i was typing..........typing slow..

Cooker isolation has been changed from mandatory (as it were) to engineering preference, which means you dont have to bother. I always do it, everyone else still does it, but i dont think anyone is going to get upset on this one, as have you said, the CU can be used

-------------------------
----------------------------------------
Lack of planning on your part doesn't make it an emergency on mine....

Every man has to know his limitations- Dirty Harry
 24 February 2014 08:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



TopTrumper

Posts: 172
Joined: 22 July 2006

Pete,
there is a low level cooker unit wired as a ring, hob will be fed by 6mm from this..This circuit had to get clipped under ceiling, on proper concrete, 6mm cable would just not cut it...

Wish these fookin guidance books were not so feckin vague...
 24 February 2014 08:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Crazycolours

Posts: 77
Joined: 05 September 2013

Originally posted by: peteTLM

Cooker isolation has been changed from mandatory (as it were) to engineering preference, which means you dont have to bother. I always do it, everyone else still does it, but i dont think anyone is going to get upset on this one, as have you said, the CU can be used


Pete,

I never knew that - where and when was that written?

Regards, C.
 25 February 2014 06:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



SKElectrical

Posts: 910
Joined: 01 February 2009

Originally posted by: peteTLM
Cooker isolation has been changed from mandatory (as it were) to engineering preference, which means ..... the CU can be used


Nicely put. I agree. It's engineering preference here.

For what its worth I always reckon a 20A radial just doesn't cut it for socket power in kitchen.
 25 February 2014 07:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for dickllewellyn.
dickllewellyn

Posts: 1177
Joined: 19 March 2010

I must say I'm not convinced about a hob on a 2.5 ring! What sort of load wil the hob be fully loaded? Concentrated on one part of a ring? How was it easier to install two 2.5 t&e than to install one 6mm t&e?

-------------------------
Regards
Richard (Dick)

"Insert words of wisdom and/or witty pun here"
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.