Increase font size
Topic Title: Emergency Lighting Design & Relux
Topic Summary:
Created On: 17 January 2014 11:46 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 17 January 2014 11:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

chriso

Question for anybody who has been involved with emergency lighting design and Relux:

I've been going through a large commercial unit conducting a PIR, I've now been asked to commence remedials. As well as this I've been asked to evaluate the current emergency lighting system, it's not up to much. Various key points not lit, broken fittings and no lighting along escape routes.

I've never done emergency lighting design before, I have the Electricians Guide to Emergency Lighting and have been reading up with online guides also. Where I'm struggling is I don't seem to be able to track down spacing guides on typical bulkhead fittings. Also I have some larger open areas with escape routes passing through them, floor to lighting trunking height is about 5 metres and I'm going to need to install emergency fluorescent fittings (from the trunking over these areas). This evening, I have been reading through the Relux manual (I was hoping Relux might be the answer in terms of spacing and light levels from height), I'm wondering how long it's going to take me to get to grips with it and whether it will do what I need it to.

Any ideas, before I give up the will to live! first day off tomorrow since the start of the month, really looking forward to spending it looking at emergency lighting!
 18 January 2014 12:19 AM

peteTLM

Bulkhead fittings have their uses but are not going to be up to much with the height and description. What lighting is in place at the moment? Has a fra been done by others at any time?

I'd be looking at em fluorescents (ie 5fts) as a minimum .