Increase font size
Topic Title: Lighting fault
Topic Summary: Dodgy generator?
Created On: 10 December 2013 07:31 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10 December 2013 07:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Davesparx

Evening all and happy Christmas if I don't see you !! I was called out to a lighting fault yesterday. We fitted some 600 x 600 LED panels about 3 weeks ago and the whole lot were out. After a closer look we found that the driver on every light was knackered. Also the battery packs on the emergencies were toast. The owner of the building told me that they had a power cut and the generator kicked in for about 15 mins. I am wondering if over voltage caused the drivers and packs to fail. I have very little experience with gen sets and was wondering if this is possible? The power cut does not seem to be to blame as all other equipment was ok. The I.T kit is all surge protected and none of the fuses had blown. The panels are designed and made by the same company who are very well known in the industry. As always any replies greatly appreciated. Cheers, Dave
 10 December 2013 08:19 PM

eclipse

Dave,

A call to the technical people at the manufacturers would be the first thing I'd do.

-------------------------
Thanks

Alan.

Now what was that reg no?
 10 December 2013 08:32 PM

OldSparky

i would have thought if there was over voltage many other things would be damaged, but possible.

The gen set obviously should be set at a predetermined voltage..

why not run it up and put your volt meter on it.. with out it connected to the building of course.
 11 December 2013 07:22 AM

Jaymack

Originally posted by: Davesparx
The owner of the building told me that they had a power cut and the generator kicked in for about 15 mins. I am wondering if over voltage caused the drivers and packs to fail.