IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: what boxes ??
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06 December 2013 08:12 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06 December 2013 08:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



goldenboy1818

Posts: 465
Joined: 22 February 2011

Hi if its a larve and plaster wall what boxes do you normally fix in ?? surface boxes ??
 06 December 2013 08:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



geov

Posts: 176
Joined: 22 February 2004

Hi, for lathe & plaster, you can sometimes get away with a fastfix box or a deep metal back box. If the latter, I usually place a piece of dpc behind the box to avoid any dampness. But be mindful of the damage you can cause to the plaster when cutting through - I use my Fein for this.
 06 December 2013 08:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for tomgunn.
tomgunn

Posts: 3213
Joined: 25 May 2005

TBH, the best way is to make a hole / other and fix a noggin... or aim for one of the upright or diagonal beams.

regards... Tom

-------------------------
Tom .... ( The TERMINATOR ).

handyTRADESMAN ... haha

Castle Builders

Why did Nick Clegg cross the road? Because he said he wouldn't!

I can resist anything..... except temptation! ( Karl Gunn ).
 06 December 2013 08:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



normcall

Posts: 8111
Joined: 15 January 2005

Think of it as cutting through the structure and then walk away, remove the lathe & plaster then plasterboard and replaster or suggest an alternative.

-------------------------
Norman
 06 December 2013 09:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



unshockable

Posts: 840
Joined: 18 May 2007

I agree about the Multitool although I use the Bosch with £3 blades. I draw a line on the centre of the box height and drill with a 5mm hss every inch to find the upright. Pencil line around a metal box and cut with an old blade(its very abrasive).

When you get to the lathe, pin them down to the upright with penny washers and change to a sharp blade, scalloping out the member too if necessary.

IMHO
Simon
 06 December 2013 05:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



BrucieBonus

Posts: 659
Joined: 20 February 2007

If it's just for a light switch and you very carefully cut with a multimaster (or similar), then you can often get away with using a 45mm deep plasterboard box as the wings will sit behind the lathes.

Once really impressed a customer by fitting her new switch with NO damage as I was able to lift the floorboards above and drop the cable into the void.... doesn't happen that often, eh!

Not suitable for a socket though
 06 December 2013 08:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 2802
Joined: 09 September 2005

I give the customer the choice. surface box or be prepared for some damaged plaster. You will probably struggle with fasta fix because of the varying depths of the lathes as they are often twisted a bit and can be a fair way back for the clamp. If it is for socket boxes try to find an upright and use a metal box, but still be prepared for potential repairs.

Gary

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 07 December 2013 08:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for dickllewellyn.
dickllewellyn

Posts: 1150
Joined: 19 March 2010

Also if it's sockets, be prepared for the bottom 10-12" of the cavity being packed full of muck!

-------------------------
Regards
Richard (Dick)

"Insert words of wisdom and/or witty pun here"
 07 December 2013 07:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



jcm256

Posts: 1841
Joined: 01 April 2006

Don't destroy old horsehair plaster and lime by cutting out box holes, you are cutting out history. Make a nice feature use surface wooden batten and wooden block for the switches. Alternatively, poke a small terminal screwdriver find the gap between the laths make a small hole and solid fish wire up the cavity, to hook on the other fish wire fed in from the top. Wear facemask protection.

http://www.askmehelpdesk.com/i...t-bad-you-512824.html

http://www.google.co.uk/search...QsAQ&biw=1008&bih=577


There use to be another type of stud wall and ceiling board made out of pressed straw and cement; you could not chase it, as it was only about 1½" thick, resort to ceiling switches that's was the only way to proceed.
Used to spread cow dung on walls with a yard brush to make plaster stick that was before mortar mix, very effective especially in plastering outside walls on farmyards
sheds. So give a thought what you bore holes in.
 07 December 2013 09:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



perspicacious

Posts: 7131
Joined: 18 April 2006

Even more fun if you find that all the stud walls and ceilings are expanded mesh that has been rendered with what appeared to be a 4 to 1 mix of fine concrete....... Serves me right for trespassing into Bristol city

Regards

BOD
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.