IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Flickering Lights.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02 December 2013 09:01 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02 December 2013 09:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for JonSteward.
JonSteward

Posts: 582
Joined: 04 December 2007

Came across an unusual situation.
Lights in a remote property flicker, only slightly, when dimmed.
This is on several tungsten filament circuits, mains halogens and low voltage.
Looks like an external issue so now talking to neighbours.
Any other ideas?
 03 December 2013 04:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



DOUGIE1000

Posts: 4168
Joined: 13 August 2005

Bad join somewhere, does table lamps do it?

-------------------------
Dougie
Power Plus Electrical.co.uk

My mission is to live as long as possible......so far so good!
 03 December 2013 09:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 6255
Joined: 04 July 2007

If table lamps do it probably poor connection at the meter, cut-out or c/unit? (most likely neutral)

Dave.
 03 December 2013 11:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OMS.
OMS

Posts: 19764
Joined: 23 March 2004

What type of dimmer is it ?

Regards

OMS

-------------------------
Failure is always an option
 03 December 2013 11:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



AJJewsbury

Posts: 11587
Joined: 13 August 2003

Any other ideas?

Maybe a 'disturbing load' somewhere in the neighbourhood, but the varying voltage is less noticeable when the lamps are at full brightness? Maybe.

What sort of frequency is the flicker? is it the same across all circuits? Are several different types of dimmer involved? Has it always done this or has it suddenly started happening with no changes to the installation?

- Andy.
 03 December 2013 06:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for JonSteward.
JonSteward

Posts: 582
Joined: 04 December 2007

Thanks for the replies.
The dimmers are Varilight V pro (which have various software incarnations), I swapped one for a vintage dimmer from my spares box with no significant difference.
This only became apparent once the winter months kicked in. (10 month install).
The flicker is random and not regular. Seems to step up then down but only slightly. You really have to stare at it to notice.
 05 December 2013 12:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



SKElectrical

Posts: 910
Joined: 01 February 2009

the lights in my house have done this since I moved in 2 years ago. I have double checked connections at c/u and meter, including dno side. Both light circuit upstairs and light circuit downstairs affected. I haven't tried a desk lamp yet because I refuse to buy an incandescent bulb. Only a few GU10s left which are most noticeable, the rest of my house is cfl or led which seem unaffected.
GU10s flickering on dimmer is just as noticeable as when at 100%. I have not asked neighbours if they experience similar problems.

Without wiring in a desk lamp with incandescent bulb directly to pre cut out, there are a host of possibilities.
 05 December 2013 09:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for williamjack.
williamjack

Posts: 8
Joined: 30 September 2013

This can be due to bad connctions.
 05 December 2013 10:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Colin Jenkins

Posts: 5
Joined: 03 August 2007

Hello Jon.

On a "remote" installation, the property is probably fed by a long overhead service from a pole-mounted small transformer which can present a relatively high source impedance. Electrical loading on/off in the property can thus cause a voltage variation and a consequent disturbance to the established lighting levels. For some reason, this seems to be much more apparent to the human eye perception on low lighting levels than it is at full levels. My own property suffers from this, it's been there for about fifteen years, it's only noticeable on dimmed lighting, and it's not loose connections.

If you get called back it would bee wise to check all the accessible circuit connections to eliminate a loose one, but it could be like the above that cannot be easily solved.

I hope this helps.

Regards,

Colin jenkins.
 06 December 2013 06:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for JonSteward.
JonSteward

Posts: 582
Joined: 04 December 2007

My gut feeling is external.
Being rural there maybe farm equipment on the same line. I'll try to locate the TX next time, might give some clues.
I'll also check the internal loadings and connections.
Thanks again
 06 December 2013 06:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



burn

Posts: 126
Joined: 06 June 2003

I can back up what Colin says. Until recently I was in a similar situation, until Western Power upgraded the network, making us part of an LV ring main with the cables underground.
Previously I measured 223v at best and often down to 218v.
Now I have a steady 230v.

Except about 2 hrs ago that is, when like half of Lincolnshire was subject to a problem on the grid, at West Burton power station.
I was interested to note my CFLs, the TV,DVR and Mocrowave all worked at 180v. If the 12v downlights had not been dim I would not have known.

burn
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.