IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Off topic
Topic Summary: broadband bandwidth
Created On: 31 October 2013 08:58 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 31 October 2013 08:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 2898
Joined: 09 September 2005

Sorry chaps and lasses.
slightly off topic. I'm fed up with my broadband keep dropping out so was looking at the possibility of getting fibre optic put in as apparently it is now available locally. Is this likely to give me more bandwidth as we often have 4 of us on-line and can get a bit slow, especially when the boys are streaming upstairs. ive looked round several sites with varying claims but does anyone have any actual experience. I am looking at the bt infinity packages.

Gary

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 31 October 2013 11:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



HarryJMacdonald

Posts: 256
Joined: 15 May 2002

I saw an article on this today - can't remember where, but the main thing I remember is that every town listed had a different typical speed and they were all getting better over the year. I suggest my experience here might not help you elsewhere.
 01 November 2013 06:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



statter

Posts: 126
Joined: 06 February 2013

Yes you should get a good increase in speed. The further from the exchange that you are the bigger the increase. There is a guide to the multiplier range you will get on the BT website.
 01 November 2013 07:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 2898
Joined: 09 September 2005

thanks guys. yes it looks like we have got fibre to the cabinet then the nearer you are to the cabinet the better. I'll have another look through the bt site re number of users and whether it will be better.

Gary

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 01 November 2013 08:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for tomgunn.
tomgunn

Posts: 3248
Joined: 25 May 2005

Ignore this... been caught out!!


Tom

-------------------------
Tom .... ( The TERMINATOR ).

handyTRADESMAN ... haha

Castle Builders

Why did Nick Clegg cross the road? Because he said he wouldn't!

I can resist anything..... except temptation! ( Karl Gunn ).

Edited: 01 November 2013 at 09:44 AM by tomgunn
 01 November 2013 09:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for Rulland.
Rulland

Posts: 481
Joined: 11 April 2008

The first video is a joke, literally, see the makers write up, lol.

-------------------------
Those who make no mistakes do very little work!!......
 01 November 2013 10:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for rocknroll.
rocknroll

Posts: 8887
Joined: 03 October 2005

Is this likely to give me more bandwidth as we often have 4 of us on-line and can get a bit slow, especially when the boys are streaming upstairs.


LOL aint that the truth, the things we have to suffer for them, anyway it really is 'infinity and beyond' , because I live a bit out in the wilds infinity only became available three weeks ago, anyway I prebooked some months ago and received a call from BT to enquire whether I still wanted infinity and I did, I opted for the unlimited package and an engineer appointment was arranged 10 days ago, my advice is pay the extra 6 quid for the engineer to call and fit it for you, not only does he fit a new master socket where you no longer need those filters everywhere but also runs a test on your extensions as well, not only did he find that one of my extensions I think he mentioned 2 and 5 was reversed apparently a common fault he finds in most houses, whilst this does not affect the actual telephone call it can affect the broadband whilst the call is being made, you are asked to have an up to date computer available for the engineer to run some tests which they do and at the end of the diagnostics they demonstrate the speed using iplayer which most of us know is a pain in the butt, buffering here and there all the time, on infinity the buffer loading bar at the bottom of iplayer shoots across immediately and you have uninterrupted viewing of the program you have chosen, that is damn fast.

I did mention the bit about distance from the exchange etc; but he did say a lot of that is old wives tales as technology have taken over and this is not an issue.

regards

-------------------------
"Take nothing but a picture,
leave nothing but footprints!"
-------------------------
"Oh! The drama of it all."
-------------------------
"You can throw all the philosophy you like at the problem, but at the end of the day it's just basic electrical theory!"
-------------------------
 01 November 2013 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 2898
Joined: 09 September 2005

Thanks for that RnR. did you get the new router, from what I can see it probably won't work wireless with older laptops. ours vary in age from 2 to 4 years but I can't seem to see anything about the dual frequency wifi on them so presume they are not compatible (i think that's what it was called ) so I am hoping to keep my home hub3 for now.

Gary

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 01 November 2013 01:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 2898
Joined: 09 September 2005

just booked it for next Friday so obviously haven't advertised it much round here yet. Same price as I am paying now so a bit of a no brainer really.

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 01 November 2013 02:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



allaway

Posts: 89
Joined: 08 July 2007

Have been using Infinity for almost 3 years. It was te best move I have made in terms of comms.

Your Home Hub 3 should work but any new router will still work with your older devices. You will not make maximum use of the WiFi capability of the router but they will certainly work with your existing laptops, tablets, phones &c.

If you are clever, use the new router and then reconfigure the HH3 to be a Wireless Access Point only and then you will have two wireless channels available which will give the attached devices even greater local bandwidth by splitting them between the WAPs .
 01 November 2013 02:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for rocknroll.
rocknroll

Posts: 8887
Joined: 03 October 2005

Thanks for that RnR. did you get the new router, from what I can see it probably won't work wireless with older laptops.


I went for BT infinity 2 unlimited the top one and home hub 5 to go with it, no problem superfast, I have a couple of older laptops with exclusive music and composition programs on them and they work fine.

regards

-------------------------
"Take nothing but a picture,
leave nothing but footprints!"
-------------------------
"Oh! The drama of it all."
-------------------------
"You can throw all the philosophy you like at the problem, but at the end of the day it's just basic electrical theory!"
-------------------------
 01 November 2013 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 2898
Joined: 09 September 2005

Thanks guys.

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 01 November 2013 02:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 2898
Joined: 09 September 2005

Originally posted by: allaway

Have been using Infinity for almost 3 years. It was te best move I have made in terms of comms.



Your Home Hub 3 should work but any new router will still work with your older devices. You will not make maximum use of the WiFi capability of the router but they will certainly work with your existing laptops, tablets, phones &c.



If you are clever, use the new router and then reconfigure the HH3 to be a Wireless Access Point only and then you will have two wireless channels available which will give the attached devices even greater local bandwidth by splitting them between the WAPs .




Thanks. I might come back to you on that one as i'm not the brightest button sometimes .


Gary

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 01 November 2013 02:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



allaway

Posts: 89
Joined: 08 July 2007

Originally posted by: aligarjon


Thanks. I might come back to you on that one as i'm not the brightest button sometimes .





Gary


No problem. You can use a Private Message (PM) if you want, as it is away from the board intentions.
 01 November 2013 03:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for rocknroll.
rocknroll

Posts: 8887
Joined: 03 October 2005

Where you will notice the difference is streaming such as iplayer, netflix and lovefilm, downloading is a dream as well before it used to take a day or more to download a film and trying one the other day it came down in less than ten minutes, I do have an advantage that all over the house I have the ethernet so I can take advantage of the higher speed through this medium although on wireless it seems just as fast, we have two imacs with an i5 and my vaio has an i7, the couple of older computers I have do not show much improvement, but that is not the broadband but the CPU limiting to around 20 and 30 so to take advantage you do really need an up to date machine with a minimum of an i5 processor or equivalent.

By the way whilst every other site around you goes like the clappers this site can still be as slow and laborious as ever.

Just a note; BT OpenReach did inform me they monitor it for a while and it will get faster, at the moment I am running at 75mbps hard wired and 32mbps wireless which is damn fast.

regards

-------------------------
"Take nothing but a picture,
leave nothing but footprints!"
-------------------------
"Oh! The drama of it all."
-------------------------
"You can throw all the philosophy you like at the problem, but at the end of the day it's just basic electrical theory!"
-------------------------

Edited: 01 November 2013 at 03:23 PM by rocknroll
 01 November 2013 08:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



AdrianWint

Posts: 265
Joined: 25 May 2006

Interesting how all the service providers are all claiming 'fibre optic broadband' yet none of them will actually deliver on a fire optic into the house!

We have broadband via VirginMedia. This is delivered on the same coax that Cable TV is (we don't have cable TV, we only have broadband from Virgin). We've had 10Mb service for the past few years & its recently been upgraded to 30Mb for the same price. Service is pretty solid, we have the odd hiccup every now & then but in the 10 yrs we've been connected I would say that we've been off connection for less than a week all told.

Adrian
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.