Increase font size
Topic Title: Portable appliance testing Scheduling
Topic Summary:
Created On: 30 October 2013 02:26 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 30 October 2013 02:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

nchapman1990

Hi,
i'm seeking some advice as i'm not trying to reinvent the wheel.
i'm a sole electrician working for a large world wide company. I am based at one site containing 7 buildings and have the sole responsibility of managing the PAT. currently I do the whole site in one bulk but there is approx. 5000 items and this takes around 3 month and I get a large backlog of work. Do any other companies tackle this differently and could help me out please. for example nominate one day a week to be PAT day ect. any help would be greatly appreciated
 30 October 2013 02:51 PM

Legh

Welcome to the forum

I hope you like PAT as you've got an interesting task ahead of you.

Do you have the latest copy of 'the code of practice for inspection and testing in-service electrical equipment' ?

It would appear, as the duty holder, that you will be responsible for scheduling the frequency of inspections for different types of equipment in different environments.

Legh

-------------------------
Why do we need Vernier Calipers when we have container ships?

http://www.leghrichardson.co.uk

"Science has overcome time and space. Well, Harvey has overcome not only time and space - but any objections."
 30 October 2013 03:03 PM

nchapman1990

hi Legh,

Thankyou for the welcome

Yes, the company has upto date regulations and the latest code of practice. I currently do the pat and in all honesty I hate it but its my job

im trying to find a more feasible and practical method of tackling all 5000 items
 30 October 2013 03:18 PM

AJJewsbury