IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Cat 5 networking
Topic Summary: Patch Panel connection .
Created On: 30 September 2013 09:11 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 30 September 2013 09:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Ampman

Posts: 1012
Joined: 06 February 2006

Evening ,

Ive been ask to install extra network points around a office the xisting patch panel is full & will not take the extra additions , I intend to install a new patch panel to accomodate the new points .

My question is do i feed this patch panel from one of the ports on the one which is full up by means of a patch lead .?

there is a switch in the patch panel that flashes green lights etc...

Do i patch to this to live the new one up .

Im not great with networking ive always connected up both the patch panels & wall boxes but someone has always followed up to power it all up .

But now i have a oppurtunity to install some myself i want to make sure i can do it correctly .

bt are doing all the phone stuff ,

Thanks

Is there a web site showing drawings etc...
 30 September 2013 09:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



keylevel

Posts: 468
Joined: 31 October 2003

The patch panel is, as you already know, just the other end of the wall boxes. You then use a plug-in patch lead to connect from the patch panel to a port on the switch.

They may have a smart switch which requires configuration, but generally they are just plug-and-play.
 30 September 2013 09:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



peteTLM

Posts: 3150
Joined: 31 March 2005

Do the fixed network wiring socket to patch panel and leave it there. Their IT person can sort out the network ports and switch as this is a different ballgame.

-------------------------
----------------------------------------
Lack of planning on your part doesn't make it an emergency on mine....

Every man has to know his limitations- Dirty Harry
 30 September 2013 10:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for slittle.
slittle

Posts: 3510
Joined: 22 November 2007

I'd agree with Pete, unless it's a simple unmanaged switch leave it to the IT guys.

Wire and terminate and get the bill in.
In my past I was a Cisco certified network man so I've got a reasonable understanding of networking from the ground up and as a business we do get involved in some interesting network jobs (mostly with microwaves).

If you want to learn more, have a google, there's lots of it out there and it's simple enough to play at home if you've got a couple of networkable devices.

Stu
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.