IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Watching sky on other tv's help please
Topic Summary: sky + HD box
Created On: 25 September 2013 03:44 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 25 September 2013 03:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 2828
Joined: 09 September 2005

We've just has a new sky + HD box fitted and want to watch sky in other rooms via a magic eye. you used to be able to do this via the RF2 outlet. The new box does not have an RF 2 outlet so you have to purchase an I O link that plugs in the back so that you can do it.

I cannot get it to work at the moment, I don't know whether it is faulty or that I am just being a numpty. I have turned on the rf outlet power supply via the menu.

I have rung the sky helpline and the nice indian lady talked me through a menu that didn't exist then advised me to try the sky website.

She basically said press services 001 select then there should be an option to turn it on but it just aint there. Does anyone have any ideas or do I just send it back and get a replacement.

Cheers.

Gary

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 25 September 2013 04:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for rocknroll.
rocknroll

Posts: 8844
Joined: 03 October 2005

I presume you need to turn your RF output on, I just used this procedure which I printed from the net and it worked.

1. Press the SERVICES button on your Sky Remote Control

2. Press the right arrow button on your Sky remote control (SETTINGS)

3. Press the down arrow button on your Sky remote control to highlight PICTURE

4. Press 0 then 1 then the SELECT button and SETUP will be highlighted

5. Press the right arrow button 3 times to highlight RF OUT

6. Press the down arrow button and use the number buttons to change the channel number currently showing as channel 68. (pre-set from the factory). Choose a channel between 21 & 69. (the most common being 21, 26, 47, 69)

7. Press the down arrow button and use the right arrow button to change the RF Outlet Power Supply setting from OFF to On

8. Press the Green button to save the new settings and then press the Sky button to return to normal viewing.

9. Finish by returning to your second TV and performing a retune.

Looks like the nice lady gave you too many 0,s its 01 not 001.

regards

-------------------------
"Take nothing but a picture,
leave nothing but footprints!"
-------------------------
"Oh! The drama of it all."
-------------------------
"You can throw all the philosophy you like at the problem, but at the end of the day it's just basic electrical theory!"
-------------------------

Edited: 25 September 2013 at 06:17 PM by rocknroll
 25 September 2013 05:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for michaelbrett.
michaelbrett

Posts: 933
Joined: 28 December 2005

Gary

I did read somewhere that Sky were going to remove the firmware that allowed the use of RF2 output and modes on Sky+ boxes.

Take a look at this link:

http://www.digirepairs.co.uk/s...-rf-2-output-2/


You will probably need to use RF1 and route it through some kind of distribution amplifier.

Sky probably want to supply more boxes and sell additional subcription cards for additional TVs.

Regards

Mike
 25 September 2013 07:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



westfield6

Posts: 116
Joined: 12 October 2007

Originally posted by: michaelbrett

I did read somewhere that Sky were going to remove the firmware that allowed the use of RF2 output and modes on Sky+
[/IMG].

Don't know how this untrue rumour started. There are over a million subscribers using RF2 with magic eyes. Why would Sky alienate them?
 26 September 2013 01:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Jaymack

Posts: 4639
Joined: 07 April 2004

If you have a dish connected SKY box at all, there's a bouguet of channels a la freeview, that can be watched without a subscription, but with a SKY card requiring a once off payment of £25. It was £10 just 4 years ago.

Sky Digital Settop Box Easter Egg Secret Engineers Menu
1. While on the Sky Digital channel, press [services] on the remote
2. Then select system setup and press [enter]
3. Now on the remote press [0] [1] and then [enter]
4. You will now be presented with a hidden menu that is used by engineers to set up your system. An interesting feature if "new installation" which enables you to reset the system if you are experiencing faults without having to pay someone to come out and repair it! Do use caution though on some other features as it was hidden for a reason.

Understanding the Installer Setup Menu.
http://helpforum.sky.com/t5/Sk...ller-Setup-Menu/td-p/3
 26 September 2013 09:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



perspicacious

Posts: 7232
Joined: 18 April 2006

Is the helpline on a premium rate 0844 number?

Regards

BOD
 26 September 2013 08:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 2828
Joined: 09 September 2005

Cheers guys. I did eventually manage to sort it out by chance. My sun was in the room with the sky box and I was messing around with a remote on one of the TV's with the eye on and it was changing the channels but I had no picture on the tv I had just retuned. It had actually tuned in on one of the old analoge channels rather than the digital ones which was why I couldn't find it.

The new sky+ boxes do not have a built in RF2 outlet, you have to buy a separate plug in adaptor that plugs into an I O port then you can use the magic eye as normal. The sky engineer advised me not to buy them on-line as they are typically £50+. They are now available from sky for £25.00.

I only got sky so that I could watch bt sport for free. I did get a bit of a bargain. Half price on all packages for 12 months (which is the terms of the contract) through voucher codes on-line. I took the cheapest package which is £21.50. so half price is £10.75 for 12 months. Then sky also sent me a £100.00 M&S voucher for signing up. Free installation and box. So the whole lot is going to cost me £29.00 for the year after which I will cancel my contract and pay a one off payment for a viewing card.

Gary

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 26 September 2013 08:37 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for Rulland.
Rulland

Posts: 461
Joined: 11 April 2008

Dear Gary, Thank you for sharing your input on our current customer recruiting drive, we will bear this in mind for future reference.
Yours Sincerely,
Richard (Sky Customer Services).





























LOL :-)

-------------------------
Those who make no mistakes do very little work!!......
 27 September 2013 01:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



westfield6

Posts: 116
Joined: 12 October 2007

Three points here.

1. Jaymack, you don't need a card for the free to air channels, it is a con. All the card does is put your local BBC1 and ITV on 101 & 103 (instead of London and Central West), and give you about 3 extra channels you won't watch.

2. The helpline is an 0844 premium number.

3. Aligarjon, Sky don't use engineers for installations, they are installers. Engineers are people with a degree level qualification, not someone who has been shown how to use a satellite meter and given basic ladder training.

Also add that when you cancel your existing card will revert to the £25 viewing card. You won't need to buy another, not that you would anyway, see point 1.

Edited: 27 September 2013 at 01:10 AM by westfield6
 27 September 2013 05:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Jaymack

Posts: 4639
Joined: 07 April 2004

Originally posted by: westfield6
1. Jaymack, you don't need a card for the free to air channels, it is a con. All the card does is put your local BBC1 and ITV on 101 & 103 (instead of London and Central West), and give you about 3 extra channels you won't watch.

Au contraire, mon ami. there are the SKY "true movies" channels and others, which are very watchable IMO.

3. Aligarjon, Sky don't use engineers for installations, they are installers. Engineers are people with a degree level qualification, not someone who has been shown how to use a satellite meter and given basic ladder training.

Agreed, SKY employ gutter merchants with dragging knuckles, who take the easiest route.

Also add that when you cancel your existing card will revert to the £25 viewing card. You won't need to buy another, not that you would anyway, see point 1.

I cancelled the SKY subscription a few years ago, with much publicised hilarity by the operator, and the others in the background - "You want to cancel SKY" Ha, HA!, and the card reverted to the basic channels, it didn't revert to the Freeview type channels, perhaps it does nowadays. A customer has just bought a £25 card to watch the SKY free channels on a second box, 2 weeks ago.

Regards
 27 September 2013 07:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 2828
Joined: 09 September 2005

Do they not have to tell you if it is a premium number. The number I called was an 08442 number given with the paperwork for the io link to report a fault or arrange a return. It does not state anywhere on it that its a premium rate number. I await my mobile bill

Gary

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 27 September 2013 08:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for colinhaggett.
colinhaggett

Posts: 364
Joined: 08 July 2004

Better to go Freesat and save your money.
 27 September 2013 09:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



perspicacious

Posts: 7232
Joined: 18 April 2006

"Do they not have to tell you if it is a premium number. The number I called was an 08442 number given with the paperwork for the io link to report a fault or arrange a return. It does not state anywhere on it that its a premium rate number. I await my mobile bill"

I gather that from a landline you're looking at anything from 4 to 8p per min and from a mobile, 25 to 40p per min Gary..... Plus a connection charge. See your provider for details

Let's be kind to you and say it was just 10 mins on the 'phone so that's say, £4 you paid for the customer service.

Have a look at the site below and do some searches, one linked to start you off....

Regards

BOD

http://www.saynoto0870.com/cgi...cgi?num=1375897162/3#3
 27 September 2013 10:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



westfield6

Posts: 116
Joined: 12 October 2007

Originally posted by: aligarjon

Do they not have to tell you if it is a premium number. The number I called was an 08442 number given with the paperwork for the io link to report a fault or arrange a return. It does not state anywhere on it that its a premium rate number. I await my mobile bill [IMG][/IMG]


Some say rules are there to be broken.

Any number that does not start with 01, 02, or 03 is suspect. 08 are premium with the exception of 0800, and 0808 which are free along with 0500. 09 are even higher premium often used for porn chat lines.
 27 September 2013 11:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



westfield6

Posts: 116
Joined: 12 October 2007



"You want to cancel SKY" Ha, HA!, and the card reverted to the basic channels, it didn't revert to the Freeview type channels, perhaps it does nowadays. A customer has just bought a £25 card to watch the SKY free channels on a second box, 2 weeks ago.

A cancelled Sky card has always reverted to the same free to view channels as available on the £25 free to view card.

Not sure what you mean by "basic channels" and "Freeview type channels". There are free to air channels which include BBC, ITV, CH 4 & 5 and lots of shopping, no card needed. There are free to view channels which need a card but no subscription, about six of them I think. Freeview is a service received via an aerial and is nothing to do with Sky. Most Freeview channels are also available FTA on satellite, though there are a few that require a Sky sub on satellite, Dave and Yesterday come to mind.
Regards
 27 September 2013 06:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 2828
Joined: 09 September 2005

Originally posted by: rocknroll

I presume you need to turn your RF output on, I just used this procedure which I printed from the net and it worked.



1. Press the SERVICES button on your Sky Remote Control



2. Press the right arrow button on your Sky remote control (SETTINGS)



3. Press the down arrow button on your Sky remote control to highlight PICTURE



4. Press 0 then 1 then the SELECT button and SETUP will be highlighted



5. Press the right arrow button 3 times to highlight RF OUT



6. Press the down arrow button and use the number buttons to change the channel number currently showing as channel 68. (pre-set from the factory). Choose a channel between 21 & 69. (the most common being 21, 26, 47, 69)



7. Press the down arrow button and use the right arrow button to change the RF Outlet Power Supply setting from OFF to On



8. Press the Green button to save the new settings and then press the Sky button to return to normal viewing.



9. Finish by returning to your second TV and performing a retune.



Looks like the nice lady gave you too many 0,s its 01 not 001.



regards





Thankyou for taking the trouble to type that lot out RnR.

Gary

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 27 September 2013 08:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OldSparky.
OldSparky

Posts: 592
Joined: 28 June 2011

if you dont know you wont get hd on the other tvs
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.