IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: TV signal
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11 September 2013 07:26 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11 September 2013 07:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OldSparky.
OldSparky

Posts: 592
Joined: 28 June 2011

hello peeps,

will try to keep this short..

my tv at home has stopped receiving free view, meaning it keeps pix elating.

so checked the signal, its way to high because the quality is 0,

reduced the signal strength but the quality is still poor.

oh and all the other tvs in the house work fine.

things i have tried,

cable direct from the aerial
replaced all cables behind tv
fitted an attenuator
re boot the tv
re tuned the tv
checked for 4g interference

now i am stuck, has anyone any ideas because its driving me nuts.

cheers

Paul
 11 September 2013 07:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 6239
Joined: 04 July 2007

It's probably interference from the new G4 telephone network which uses similar frequencies to Freeview. You'll need a G4 filter, had the same problem myself a few weeks ago. Look on Ebay for G4 filter, about a tenner,

Dave.
 11 September 2013 07:52 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message



weirdbeard

Posts: 1579
Joined: 26 September 2011

Originally posted by: OldSparky


my tv at home has stopped receiving free view, meaning it keeps pix elating.


oh and all the other tvs in the house work fine.




Have you tried the non working tv plugged into one of the 'known to be working' points?
 11 September 2013 08:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OldSparky.
OldSparky

Posts: 592
Joined: 28 June 2011

dave... no 4g where i live, ( AS FAR AS I KNOW)

weired... no but, but run a cable direct from the aerial.. and still has same problem..

the tv has a input meter, the quality goes from 0... to 36 % up and down, its not steady
 11 September 2013 08:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for Rulland.
Rulland

Posts: 472
Joined: 11 April 2008

Had a fellow question me about exactly the same thing today, pixelation etc, a so called tv man fitted amps and a new aerial but it's not particularly better, this chap lives on Anglesey, don't know if 4g is there yet.
Anyone got any more info on the 4g problems/symptoms?, recommendations?.

-------------------------
Those who make no mistakes do very little work!!......
 11 September 2013 08:26 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message



weirdbeard

Posts: 1579
Joined: 26 September 2011

Originally posted by: OldSparky


weired... no but, but run a cable direct from the aerial.. and still has same problem..


Without knowing your known working tvs distribution set up, unless your non working TV is huge and can't be moved I'd suggest at least trying it in one of the existing known working points, even if by a made up long extension cable.
 11 September 2013 08:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OldSparky.
OldSparky

Posts: 592
Joined: 28 June 2011

appreciate that

will do that tomorrow with a lead..

i suppose 4 g might be on but being tested,

according to the web map its not here in cornwall yet
 11 September 2013 08:58 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message



weirdbeard

Posts: 1579
Joined: 26 September 2011

Originally posted by: OldSparky
here in cornwall


I've a booking in that town next week for a few days, let me know if you need a hand
 11 September 2013 09:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for Rulland.
Rulland

Posts: 472
Joined: 11 April 2008

Nor on Anglesey, but hey, they tell us the truth don't they?.

-------------------------
Those who make no mistakes do very little work!!......
 11 September 2013 09:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for michaelbrett.
michaelbrett

Posts: 935
Joined: 28 December 2005

If you think that you may have 4G interference, take a look at this website:

https://at800.tv/?utm_expid=68052535-0.7RPj2h84S0-qrBVPv8Q5dA.0&utm_referrer=http%3A%2F%2Fsearch.aol.co.uk%2Faol%2Fsearch%3Fs_chn%3Dhp%26enabled_terms%3D%26s_it%3Daoluk-homePage50.a%26q%3Dat800tv

It may help you.

Edit: Good grief - what a long address. If it does not work the website is called at800.tv

Regards

Mike
 11 September 2013 10:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OldSparky.
OldSparky

Posts: 592
Joined: 28 June 2011

Originally posted by: michaelbrett

If you think that you may have 4G interference, take a look at this website:



https://at800.tv/?utm_expid=68052535-0.7RPj2h84S0-qrBVPv8Q5dA.0&utm_referrer=http%3A%2F%2Fsearch.aol.co.uk%2Faol%2Fsearch%3Fs_chn%3Dhp%26enabled_terms%3D%26s_it%3Daoluk-homePage50.a%26q%3Dat800tv

mike, i looked at that site, waste of time i couldnt find out the 4g map,,

i get the feeling this 4g might be a step to far, being a conspiracy theorist ...

It may help you.



Edit: Good grief - what a long address. If it does not work the website is called at800.tv



Regards



Mike
 11 September 2013 10:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OldSparky.
OldSparky

Posts: 592
Joined: 28 June 2011

Originally posted by: weirdbeard

Originally posted by: OldSparky

here in cornwall




I've a booking in that town next week for a few days, let me know if you need a hand


you will pass my house, i live in launceston
 12 September 2013 12:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



westfield6

Posts: 121
Joined: 12 October 2007

The whole 4G thing has been blown out of all proportion by hacks who know nothing about the subject.
Tests have shown that interference is extremely unlikely unless you have a masthead amplifier and live in close proximity to a 4G mast.

You don't need to buy a filter either, one will be provided free of charge to affected households by AT800.
 12 September 2013 07:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



normcall

Posts: 8144
Joined: 15 January 2005

Aerial and leads are most likely cause.
Check http://www.ukfree.tv/starthere.php or similar also that work is not being carried out on your local transmitter.
Just another thing, they are still turning off transmitters, adding, removing or just changing multiplex.
Try a retune!

As my wife says " we never had this problem in the old days!!"

-------------------------
Norman
 12 September 2013 09:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



bartonp

Posts: 57
Joined: 28 September 2009

Retune.
Try search/posting here:

Linky
 12 September 2013 09:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



northernlights

Posts: 95
Joined: 18 January 2008

Originally posted by: daveparry1

It's probably interference from the new G4 telephone network which uses similar frequencies to Freeview. You'll need a G4 filter, had the same problem myself a few weeks ago. Look on Ebay for G4 filter, about a tenner,



Dave.


Whilst not suffering from pixelation my main TV has suddenly developed a habit of switching itself on during the night.
The only change to things is a local taxi firm have installed a huge co-linear aerial on top of a 20ft mast about 100ft away from my TV aerial. Not knowing enough about infra-red I can't say for certain that the transmissions from the firms radio is somehow affecting the remote of the TV. The other two TV's in the house are unaffected.
 12 September 2013 02:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



normcall

Posts: 8144
Joined: 15 January 2005

Ours does/did that.
I think it was due to the attached PVR switching on to check for OTA updates.
I gave both a good talking to, told them to do nuffin automatically and it's still sulking 2 months later!

Why 3am in the morning??

-------------------------
Norman
 12 September 2013 05:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for ebee.
ebee

Posts: 5729
Joined: 02 December 2004

"Why 3am in the morning??"

Because there`s no such thing as 3am in the afternoon , Norman!

-------------------------
Regards,
Ebee (M I S P N)

Knotted cables cause Lumpy Lektrik
 17 September 2013 06:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OldSparky.
OldSparky

Posts: 592
Joined: 28 June 2011

Originally posted by: weirdbeard

Originally posted by: OldSparky





weired... no but, but run a cable direct from the aerial.. and still has same problem..





Without knowing your known working tvs distribution set up, unless your non working TV is huge and can't be moved I'd suggest at least trying it in one of the existing known working points, even if by a made up long extension cable.



ok done this so far..

fitted variable attenuator, fitted 4g filter, ran cable from other tv points, ran cable direct from aerial, disconnected cables via sky box.

all cables double screened, all other tvs fine..

signal 100% quality 0%

if i put the attenuator on and reduce the signal it rises to about 30% then drops down then up again, does this continually.

i am at a loss and it now doing my head in so any advice would help..

oh the aerial guys around here are thick as pig s*%$ so dont ask me to ask them for help.

regards

Paul
 17 September 2013 06:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 6239
Joined: 04 July 2007

Have you tried this set in another room or tried another set in this room? I'd be starting to suspect a tuner fault now. You have tried a re-scan I take it?

Dave.
IET » Wiring and the regulations » TV signal

1 2 Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.