Increase font size
Topic Title: RCD usage in floating fish farms
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12 July 2013 09:56 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12 July 2013 09:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

haveyoubooked

Hi there, i'm an electrician in the Northern Highlands and have got to an issue at a fish farm I could do with some help on.

I've built four panel boards with 10x 16A single phase socket outlets in each, protected by MCB's. These 40x 16A socket outlets supply the underwater 400W lights.

Each board is fed via a 4mm 5 core HO7RN-F cable to a distribution panel. In here there is a 4 pole Main Isolator feeding through to 4x C32 3 phase breakers coupled to 4x 4 pole 30mA RCD's. The idea is that then we only lose 10 sockets in the event of a fault.

However this distribution panel is fed via a 16mm 5 core HO7RN-F cable to the generator. On the fish farm everything is exposed to the elements, so all the panels are IP65 plastic enclosures inside steel enclosures. This 16mm feed cable is 12m long, protected by ducting and links on to the generator, which is on a raft, tethered to the floating fish farm....

The question:

Is it OK to put a time delayed 100mA RCD in the generator for this feed cable, so as to discriminate in the event of a fault. It previously ran a 30mA in the generator, so if the RCD trips, all lights go off and a few hundred thousand fish start to suffocate. With my proposed method, all the sockets will still be protected by RCD, there will just be 1 15m length of well protected cable hard wired at both ends that doesn't have 30mA protection, but much improved functionality

Sorry it is wordy, trying to explain the circumstances for helpful comments.
 12 July 2013 11:31 AM

haveyoubooked