Increase font size
Topic Title: Domestic electrical generator
Topic Summary:
Created On: 27 June 2013 01:08 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 27 June 2013 01:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

sosa

Hi all first post here, i'm an electrician who's been asked to price a job at a remote farm house, with the problem being that currently there is no electrical supply to the building and to have one put in is going to cost £40,000+ and so i've been asked about the idea of installing a generator now as i don't have a great deal of experience with this i was wondering if anybody new any contacts so that i could get a price off them?
 27 June 2013 02:12 PM

Legh

A remote farmhouse - sounds like Scotland to me.
Surely there are initiatives abroad to encourage the installation of some form of alternative energy generation?

The first that springs to mind is something along the lines of a straw burner with a heat exchanger coupled to a solar water heater.

Now for the electrical generation, what about PV, water or/and wind.?

Lots of that up there and probably down here as well - lol

Legh

-------------------------
Why do we need Vernier Calipers when we have container ships?

http://www.leghrichardson.co.uk

"Science has overcome time and space. Well, Harvey has overcome not only time and space - but any objections."
 27 June 2013 03:01 PM

perspicacious

Welcome sosa

"Now for the electrical generation, what about PV, water or/and wind.?"

With no export then?

Regards

BOD
 27 June 2013 03:39 PM

Legh

Originally posted by: perspicacious

Welcome sosa

"Now for the electrical generation, what about PV, water or/and wind.?"

With no export then?

Regards

BOD

Where to ?

I can't see a FIT up here.
I think, this one sounds as though its going to be self sufficient

Legh