Increase font size
Topic Title: Otis Gen 2 Lift Lights
Topic Summary: Relamping
Created On: 18 June 2013 12:28 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 18 June 2013 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Vikko

Firstly, I,ve not been on this forum for a very long time so hello everyone.

A property manager that has just taken over a block of flats asked me to repair a faulty light in an Otis Gen 2 lift, they don't know if there is a maintenance contract for said lift in existence. Had a look, couldn't work out how to get at the tubes, was hoping someone on here might know. The control panel/facia runs top to bottom of the car with a full length plastic diffuser either side for the 6ft tubes. I thought they might just prise off but have given them as much force as I dare to no avail. Obviously i'm not a lift engineer, just a sparky but I thought i'd ask before recommending the manager contact a lift engineer.

Thanks in advance. Tom.
 18 June 2013 12:58 PM

Ricicle

We have some lifts where the lamps can only be changed from above. This means only the lift engineers can change them as our procedures prevent us from entering the lift shaft.

-------------------------
Empty barrels make the most noise.
 18 June 2013 04:25 PM

OMS

I think the Gen 2 has a triangular pattern key at low level on the car operating panel - that allows the whole of the CoP to swing out at the bottom and then unhook at the top - from there you can get at the lamps.

Regards

OMS

Failure is always an option
 18 June 2013 07:52 PM

Vikko

Originally posted by: OMS

I think the Gen 2 has a triangular pattern key at low level on the car operating panel - that allows the whole of the CoP to swing out at the bottom and then unhook at the top - from there you can get at the lamps.

Regards

OMS