IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: C5 mains Cable Fuse
Topic Summary:
Created On: 14 June 2013 12:39 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 14 June 2013 12:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



dp11

Posts: 30
Joined: 18 June 2011

Just would like your opinions.

I have seen a large number of mains cables with a BS1363 mains plug and a C5 connector. The fuse in the plug is 5A. The C5 connector is rated at 2.5A.

I know the fuse is designed to protect the mains lead, but should it also include the C5 connector?

Should should C5 leads only be supplied with 3A fuses ?

Thanks

dp11
 14 June 2013 01:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



broadgage

Posts: 1244
Joined: 07 August 2007

I would not worry too much, I bet that similar leads are used in mainland Europe on unfused plugs on 16 or even 20 amp circuits, and no one worries about that.

The load should not exceed 2.5 amps of course.
 14 June 2013 02:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



AJJewsbury

Posts: 10964
Joined: 13 August 2003

5A fuse is probably fine for protecting the connector from faults, and the nature of the load should protect it against overload.

The problem with 3A fuses is that they're not so good at handling switch-on surges and the like (similar logic to a fridge that draws <100W having a 13A fuse).

- Andy.
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.