Topic Title: Business help
Topic Summary:
Created On: 14 May 2013 06:22 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 14 May 2013 06:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

goldenboy1818

Hi all I was really after some business advice/help. Im a sole trader and im doing really well. With some nice contracts locked in for the future im looking maybe at moving up amd taking people on. Im just not sure whats involved with this and is it a good business move. Iv heard you have to do monthly returns, and its a lot more involved and expensive. Im really unsure. I just wondered if there was someone on here that could really help and advise me. I would really appreciate it so much if maybe someone could help me in this area. Thank you
 14 May 2013 06:30 PM

peteTLM

You have to do CIS returns if they are taken on as sub contractors. You get fined if you dont submit them in time. Other than being on time, its quite straightforward.
If you take them on as PAYE, then you dont do CIS returns for them, but here it gets complicated and you need an accountant, even it it just to initially advise on their tax codes and set up a framework for you. Remember that if they are PAYE, then you need to pay them a pension, sick leave, and if it comes to it , redundancy.
If you take someone on, you most probably are going to bust the VAT thereshold, so you need to get in the habit of doing your books every week, then every month, so you have the info automatically to do your quarterly VAT returns.

Have a look at Business link, they might have a free course for you.

-------------------------
----------------------------------------
Lack of planning on your part doesn't make it an emergency on mine....

Every man has to know his limitations- Dirty Harry
 14 May 2013 06:41 PM

goldenboy1818