IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 2 Things
Topic Summary:
Created On: 22 April 2013 08:27 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 22 April 2013 08:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for frspikeyhead.
frspikeyhead

Posts: 804
Joined: 27 December 2004

1. If it is now a requirement that all extractor fans are protected by a 3 amp fuse then why dont the manufacturers incorporate one within it.
2. If the values in tables 41 are for a 0.4s and 5s disconnection times then what values to use on EIC for a TT seeing that it is 0.2 and 1s?
 22 April 2013 08:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 6392
Joined: 04 July 2007

1. Cost I suspect? so they put the ball in our court and make it our responsibility.

2. If on a 30m/a rcd 1667 ohms,

Dave.
 22 April 2013 08:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OMS.
OMS

Posts: 19900
Joined: 23 March 2004

Originally posted by: frspikeyhead

1. If it is now a requirement that all extractor fans are protected by a 3 amp fuse then why dont the manufacturers incorporate one within it.

Time, cost and effort I suspect - that and the fact that it won't protect a fractional HP motor anyway.


2. If the values in tables 41 are for a 0.4s and 5s disconnection times then what values to use on EIC for a TT seeing that it is 0.2 and 1s?

What TT system have you got that relies on low EFLI to get disconnection - don't you have an RCD to do that job - Table 41.5 etc




Regards

OMS

-------------------------
Failure is always an option
 22 April 2013 09:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



prophet

Posts: 258
Joined: 09 October 2011

Not all manufacturers require a 3 amp fuse
 23 April 2013 07:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for leckie.
leckie

Posts: 2026
Joined: 21 November 2008

None of the fans I use for domestic use ask for a 3a fuse.
I use greenwood airvac and vortice. Which of the major manufacturers do require a 3a fuse?
 23 April 2013 08:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for dickllewellyn.
dickllewellyn

Posts: 1222
Joined: 19 March 2010

Originally posted by: leckie

None of the fans I use for domestic use ask for a 3a fuse.

I use greenwood airvac and vortice. Which of the major manufacturers do require a 3a fuse?


Pretty much all the others leckie. I've only recently discovered the greenwood, cracking little units in my opinion, and no 3a fuse requirements!

-------------------------
Regards
Richard (Dick)

"Insert words of wisdom and/or witty pun here"
 23 April 2013 09:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for leckie.
leckie

Posts: 2026
Joined: 21 November 2008

Well Dick, they are extremely reliable. I used to do a lot of new dwelling, hundreds per year, with several fans in each. In a period of about five years, so approx 1500 fans, I only had to replace 3 under warranty. Not bad eh.
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.