IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Clipping Cables Externally
Topic Summary:
Created On: 20 April 2013 05:24 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 20 April 2013 05:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for MrOther.
MrOther

Posts: 531
Joined: 08 June 2010

Hello all,

First for me: clipping some "shotgun" co-axial cables externally. House is a mis-mash of brick work facade and plastered facade circa 1920s.

Using the proper shotgun flat clips, not unlike usual T/E fixings.

My problem is this: first two fixing went in a charm. The rest the nails have bent and the walls fought back.

Any ideas? There are single coaxial cable with fixing in vincinity.

Don't really want to drill because the cable will be at high level on show and want to keep install neat and inconspicuous - white wall, white cable, white clips, and so on.

Thanks all.
 20 April 2013 06:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



impvan

Posts: 772
Joined: 07 September 2005

Tower make Pin Plugs, p/n 55PP. drill a 4.5 or 5.0 hole, about 1/2" deep.
 20 April 2013 07:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for stateit.
stateit

Posts: 2185
Joined: 15 April 2005

Originally posted by: impvan

Tower make Pin Plugs, p/n 55PP. drill a 4.5 or 5.0 hole, about 1/2" deep.


Thanks for that info...

-------------------------
S George
http://www.sg-electrical.com
 20 April 2013 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



paulskyrme

Posts: 783
Joined: 12 February 2003

I have a few boxes of Tower pin plugs in stock as they are very useful, & I don't "do" that much domestic!
However no one local stocks them, so internet it is (EBay).
 20 April 2013 10:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



primo

Posts: 439
Joined: 10 January 2008

Originally posted by: impvan

Tower make Pin Plugs, p/n 55PP. drill a 4.5 or 5.0 hole, about 1/2" deep.


Yep, they're really useful. As mentioned not easy to get hold of at short notice so worth having some in stock. Just remember to be conservative when drilling the hole...!

Alternatively get some yellow plugs, drill and put a bit of 1mm or 1.5mm in it then clips sit in nicely.

Or buy a Spit Pulsa 700e.

What do the Sky installers use!!?
 20 April 2013 11:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



typiod

Posts: 192
Joined: 09 February 2008

What do the Sky installers use!!?
Dont they throw clips at the wall and hope fore the best??
 21 April 2013 01:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



kirchoffs

Posts: 180
Joined: 08 February 2010

If you use thorsmans clips the masonry nails are 2mm thick . Just remove the nail from the shotgun clip and use the 2mm nail instead.
The 6.0mm T&E clip has a larger size nail that goes into almost anything.The branded clips that Thorsmans make ie Sector etc are made with a smaller nail so steer clear of these. Tower clips have large nails but the steel is soft and bend very easily when used on masonry.
Remember sharp square blows with the hammer and you should have only a few nails that bend,its worked for me for the last 36 years.

As you probably know Thorsmans clips are now Schneider Electric.

Regards
 21 April 2013 01:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



kirchoffs

Posts: 180
Joined: 08 February 2010

If you use thorsmans clips the masonry nails are 2mm thick . Just remove the nail from the shotgun clip and use the 2mm nail instead.
The 6.0mm T&E clip has a larger size nail that goes into almost anything.The branded clips that Thorsmans make ie Sector etc are made with a smaller nail so steer clear of these. Tower clips have large nails but the steel is soft and bend very easily when used on masonry.
Remember sharp square blows with the hammer and you should have only a few nails that bend,its worked for me for the last 36 years.

As you probably know Thorsmans clips are now Schneider Electric.

Regards
 21 April 2013 09:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for dickllewellyn.
dickllewellyn

Posts: 1150
Joined: 19 March 2010

Originally posted by: kirchoffs


As you probably know Thorsmans clips are now Schneider Electric.



Regards


As are tower I believe? I wonder if they will drop one of the brands eventually ?!

-------------------------
Regards
Richard (Dick)

"Insert words of wisdom and/or witty pun here"
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.