IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Help please. Anybody seen or used fused halogen lamps
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04 February 2013 11:27 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04 February 2013 11:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



antric2

Posts: 1052
Joined: 20 October 2006

Evening all,
Fitted some Acel branded electronic grid dimmers today that are made by GET.
The box has a label on them and a leaflet inside stipulating that the warranty will be invalidated if the lamps used are not fused.I presume that they mean the lamps themselves should be directlyfused themselves because it then mentions that the circuit they are on should be protected by an MCB of 6A or 10a maximum.
Can anybody clarify what it is about please.
regards
Antric
 04 February 2013 11:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 6153
Joined: 04 July 2007

Yes I came across these a while ago, the lamps have a suffix letter after GU10 but I can't remember what letter it is!

Dave

edit, I think it's GU10-C

Edited: 04 February 2013 at 11:43 PM by daveparry1
 05 February 2013 12:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



antric2

Posts: 1052
Joined: 20 October 2006

Hiya Dave,
the lamps I use dont have anything after the GU10 mark.
If what you say is the case, then it is bad enough trying to get customers to buy decent GU10's that are either alum backed or Dichroic type ,mustnt be higher than 35w or whatever so telling them now they have to ask for fused ones is now making me want to put another quid on the lottery so I can hopefully one day get out of the business quicker with a win.
It genuinely is becoming more trouble than its worth I think.
Regards
Antric
 05 February 2013 12:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



antric2

Posts: 1052
Joined: 20 October 2006

...........do you know what,I think I might start selling lamps and LED's.

The way the lamp industry is going and the fact that wholesalers do not stick with a regular brand might mean there is an opening for just selling a regular brand that I can try and test for reliabillity for every type of domestic lamp.

....I can hear my wife now saying.."..oh no ....not another idea!!!!..."
 05 February 2013 03:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



BrucieBonus

Posts: 666
Joined: 20 February 2007

I was told by someone (manufacturer maybe?) that any branded lamp will have a fuse (or something that basically acts in the same way to avoid dimmer destruction). Why not try giving Osram/Philips/GE a call to see...
 05 February 2013 05:46 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message



DOUGIE1000

Posts: 4163
Joined: 13 August 2005

most decent GU10 lamps have internal fuses.

Look even the super cheap ones have as well. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2807...sid=p3984.m1497.l2649

Not all the lamps have internal fuses however, ie any supermarket lamps.

-------------------------
Dougie
Power Plus Electrical.co.uk

My mission is to live as long as possible......so far so good!
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.