IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Screwfix LAP Double Sockets
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04 February 2013 03:56 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04 February 2013 03:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Richard64

Posts: 231
Joined: 15 October 2009

Had a job 3 weeks ago to replace some sockets that had started to fail. Mainly on one of the neutrals.
Screwfix had sent replacements, and I had to swap them over and supply MWCs as part of the guarantee.
I've just been informed that one of the new ones has gone the same way.
R1 and R2 readings were all fine.
Any ideas or are they just rubbish sockets?
 04 February 2013 04:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



AJJewsbury

Posts: 10964
Joined: 13 August 2003

or are they just rubbish sockets?

Sounds likely....

fail. Mainly on one of the neutrals.

R1 and R2 readings were all fine.

Why do we never check N continuity/resistance? (Rn) I realise a bad N isn't a shock risk (unlike L & PE/R1&R2), but isn't it a overheating/fire/burn risk still?

- Andy.
 04 February 2013 04:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Richard64

Posts: 231
Joined: 15 October 2009

Andy.
Sorry, should have said R1 + R2
The r1 r2 and rn readings were fine too.
Just wondering if a poor connection in one of his plug tops could be causing this. The failure has only been one side of the double socket.
 04 February 2013 04:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Ricicle

Posts: 829
Joined: 23 October 2006

What sort of load is plugged into the socket(s) ?

-------------------------
Empty barrels make the most noise.
 04 February 2013 04:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Richard64

Posts: 231
Joined: 15 October 2009

I'm not sure.
I've just emailed him to ask if there have been any common denominators.
 04 February 2013 09:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for Martynduerden.
Martynduerden

Posts: 3211
Joined: 13 July 2008

LAP LOUSY AND PROBLEMATIC, it's all in the name

Try MK MAINLY KOOL and on £2.60 !!

Crabtree sorry no imagination left

Cheap IS expensive !

-------------------------
Regards

Martyn.

Only a mediocre person is always at their best



www.electrical contractors uk.com
 04 February 2013 10:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for sparkingchip.
sparkingchip

Posts: 5695
Joined: 18 January 2003

I have just used some LAP brushed stainless fittings for the first and last time.

I had to return a 20A switch with neon and a three gang light switch as they had faulty switches straight away as they never work, so they are off the list of approved products now.

Andy
 04 February 2013 10:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for Martynduerden.
Martynduerden

Posts: 3211
Joined: 13 July 2008

Originally posted by: Ricicle

What sort of load is plugged into the socket(s) ?


Does it matter?

We cannot control what is plugged in nor should we try.

I assume its a standard 13A plug with an unbriged fuse of any rating?

Out of Interest what do they cost ?

-------------------------
Regards

Martyn.

Only a mediocre person is always at their best



www.electrical contractors uk.com
 04 February 2013 11:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 5887
Joined: 04 July 2007

Just wondering if a poor connection in one of his plug tops could be causing this

That is a distinct possibility, i've seen this a number of times,

Dave.
 05 February 2013 10:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Richard64

Posts: 231
Joined: 15 October 2009

I'm guessing it's the sockets.
The fella fitted them last year ands when they devoloped the faults contacted screwfix.
They sent him replacements and agreed to pay an approved electrician to fit them and supply MWCs.
That's when he contacted me.
As I said, on both circuits the end to ends, r1 and rn where about the same give or take 0.01 ohm and r2 was just over half again. So no loose connections. And R1+R2 was consistent with these figures.
It's the neutral on one of the outputs, not both which makes me think it's a faulty batch. Or, again a bad plug connection.
The sockets did look rather crap though.
On a brighter note, he's a foreign chap, New Zealander, without our British sensibilities about complaining. So some poor sod at screwfix may well have his day ruined. :-)
 05 February 2013 01:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Ricicle

Posts: 829
Joined: 23 October 2006

Originally posted by: Martynduerden

Originally posted by: Ricicle



What sort of load is plugged into the socket(s) ?




Does it matter?





I asked because even MK plug and socket combinations won't run with constant loads at or near 13A. With cheaper sockets the detoriation might be even quicker !

-------------------------
Empty barrels make the most noise.
 05 February 2013 01:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Richard64

Posts: 231
Joined: 15 October 2009

Originally posted by: Ricicle

Originally posted by: Martynduerden



Originally posted by: Ricicle







What sort of load is plugged into the socket(s) ?








Does it matter?











I asked because even MK plug and socket combinations won't run with constant loads at or near 13A. With cheaper sockets the detoriation might be even quicker !


Really? I've never heard of that. And I've seen plenty of Immersion heaters and cookers on plug tops.
If a 13A socket outlet can't take 13A, that's a pretty poor design.
Especially when you can pull more than 13A through a 13A fuse for quite some time.
 05 February 2013 01:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 5887
Joined: 04 July 2007

It is very common knowledge in the electrical trade, in fact it's usualy the fuse holder that overheats and causes the damage, very common on fcu's feeding immersion heaters,

Dave.
 05 February 2013 01:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Richard64

Posts: 231
Joined: 15 October 2009

Well. That's something I've never considered. Although, I prefer to put immersions on DP switches.
And I've seen burnt out FCUs. But that's generally poor connections.
Still, a very bad design flaw though.
 05 February 2013 01:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



rogerbryant

Posts: 854
Joined: 19 July 2002

I posted this last year on the joys of fused plugs :-)

http://www.esc.org.uk/fileadmi...-lead-test-report.pdf

Best regards

Roger
 05 February 2013 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



AJJewsbury

Posts: 10964
Joined: 13 August 2003

very common on fcu's feeding immersion heaters,

Possibly a feature of the ambient temperature of the airing cupboard - I think BS 1363's conditions for ambient temperature are quite restrictive.
- Andy.
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.