IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 3.83 ohms on main ze TN-S, options
Topic Summary:
Created On: 16 January 2013 10:35 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 16 January 2013 10:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Grandfortune

Posts: 350
Joined: 10 April 2007

Hi all
Got 3 ohms on main incoming sheathed 6 mm earth TN-S, will the DNO upgrade it for nothing or will a charge apply? Or will they make me TT it

Cheers
Grand
 16 January 2013 10:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for Martynduerden.
Martynduerden

Posts: 3211
Joined: 13 July 2008

If its a genuine tn-s and not a 951 clamp job then it's outside the supply parameters and faulty, ESQCR does not require DNO's to provide means of earthing on existing supplies BUT if they do they must maintain it within the supply type parameters .

Call UKPN / your local DNO report damage to their equipment.

Or TT it

-------------------------
Regards

Martyn.

Only a mediocre person is always at their best



www.electrical contractors uk.com
 16 January 2013 11:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



antric2

Posts: 1081
Joined: 20 October 2006

and get a reference\job number when you report it.
 17 January 2013 09:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Grandfortune

Posts: 350
Joined: 10 April 2007

thanks guys
 17 January 2013 09:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



alanblaby

Posts: 394
Joined: 09 March 2012

I had 2 last year with similar or higher readings, rang up Western Power Distribution, who sent a man out within 2 hours for both houses, which was surprising as their previous incarnation (EON?) did not want to know if there was a possible earth fault, they just said make it TT.
Anyway, both of mine were 'loop-in' TN-S systems unbeknown to me, you cannot tell if it is the last in line), where one cable supplies 2 or more houses, and both had loose connections in the house next door, so a simple fix for both.
 17 January 2013 04:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



esspeegee

Posts: 127
Joined: 06 January 2008

I''ve had high Ze readings on TN-S supplies twice and both times asked the customer to give the readings over the phone to the company they pay for electricity and on both occasions they came and dug up the road and did what they had to. Super quick response too. No questions, quibbles or costs. I'd always presumed it was their responsibility to supply an earth with an appropriate value.
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.