IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Magic Eye
Topic Summary: Coax cable
Created On: 16 January 2013 10:20 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 16 January 2013 10:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



GJH

Posts: 501
Joined: 24 January 2008

Evening All

A customer of mine wants to watch Sky in his bedroom from the box downstairs using a "magic eye"

I will wire a coax cable from the box to the bedroom.

At the moment there is a coax from the digital aerial booster in the loft feeding the TV upstairs.

Question is can i fit a 3 way splitter in the loft and connect the 2 cables together so that he can either watch the Sky or Digital obviously not at the same time.

I dont think it can be done and I think he needs 2 separate cables, but does anyone know if its possible to do this?

thanks in advance

GJH
 16 January 2013 10:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



DOUGIE1000

Posts: 4164
Joined: 13 August 2005

The sky in bedroom needs to be wired from RF out on the sky box,

-------------------------
Dougie
Power Plus Electrical.co.uk

My mission is to live as long as possible......so far so good!
 16 January 2013 10:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



SKElectrical

Posts: 910
Joined: 01 February 2009

It is my understanding that you can connect a coax from the sky box to a distribution amplifier and a magic eye from here to any / all rooms.



***For you information, after installing a magic eye last year for my mum, she went and bought a 3D tv. I now need to pull in an hdmi (15m max trust me) as well as the existing coax to control the magic eye. If your run is more than 15m then use 2 x solid core cat 6 ftp.
 16 January 2013 10:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for Martynduerden.
Martynduerden

Posts: 3211
Joined: 13 July 2008

You could fit a combiner but as Dougie says you need RF out from the sky box first.

Note virgin media no longer support RF out

-------------------------
Regards

Martyn.

Only a mediocre person is always at their best



www.electrical contractors uk.com
 17 January 2013 12:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



westfield6

Posts: 116
Joined: 12 October 2007

Best that he calls in an aerial man. Sparks know very little about TV distribution as your question shows.
NB. There is no such thing as a digital aerial or digital aerial booster.
 17 January 2013 02:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for slittle.
slittle

Posts: 3507
Joined: 22 November 2007

Easy to do.

Coax from RF2 output of sky box into loft

Feed that into a global communications amp T120 or similar and distribute that around the tv's

Remote eyes work through the amp without a problem and if you've got a Digital TV signal into the sky box aerial input (as opposed to dish input) that will be distributed too.

http://www.tvlink.co.uk/t-series-amplifiers.htm

and click on the system diagram link may help.

I know it works because I done exactly the above in my old house. The new place has two sky boxes remotely controlled but that's another story.


Stu
 17 January 2013 06:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Frankmul

Posts: 20
Joined: 10 December 2012

Originally posted by: slittle

Easy to do.



Coax from RF2 output of sky box into loft



Feed that into a global communications amp T120 or similar and distribute that around the tv's



Remote eyes work through the amp without a problem and if you've got a Digital TV signal into the sky box aerial input (as opposed to dish input) that will be distributed too.



http://www.tvlink.co.uk/t-series-amplifiers.htm



and click on the system diagram link may help.



I know it works because I done exactly the above in my old house. The new place has two sky boxes remotely controlled but that's another story.





Stu


that's nice to know, thanks for sharing
 17 January 2013 08:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for Martynduerden.
Martynduerden

Posts: 3211
Joined: 13 July 2008

Originally posted by: westfield6

Best that he calls in an aerial man. Sparks know very little about TV distribution as your question shows.

NB. There is no such thing as a digital aerial or digital aerial booster.


Crikey that's a generalisation! It's not exactly rocket science.

-------------------------
Regards

Martyn.

Only a mediocre person is always at their best



www.electrical contractors uk.com
 17 January 2013 08:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for slittle.
slittle

Posts: 3507
Joined: 22 November 2007

Agreed, this sparks happens to do antenna systems that the average aerial man would even be able to put a plug on the cable.....

Oh, and point to point microwave links when he's bored :-)

Stu
 17 January 2013 08:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for Martynduerden.
Martynduerden

Posts: 3211
Joined: 13 July 2008

Originally posted by: slittle


Oh, and point to point microwave links when he's bored :-)

Stu


I've never heard microwave dinners described like that before..

-------------------------
Regards

Martyn.

Only a mediocre person is always at their best



www.electrical contractors uk.com
 17 January 2013 08:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for slittle.
slittle

Posts: 3507
Joined: 22 November 2007

You would be surprised what I can cook on a link dish Martyn

Sat on their back they make an ideal wok


Stu
 17 January 2013 11:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



GJH

Posts: 501
Joined: 24 January 2008

A bit harsh westfield6, there are many questions on this forum that are asked in order to gain more knowledge of the subject, it's just too easy to phone the magic aerial man.

Thanks for the replies guys :-)
 17 January 2013 11:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



westfield6

Posts: 116
Joined: 12 October 2007

OK point taken. But more complicated RF distribution systems require careful signal measurements using equipment most sparks don't have. I've also seen poor quality coax used, especially in new builds, and wall plates fitted are often saddle and clamp types which are unsuitable in this day and age.
 17 January 2013 11:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for Martynduerden.
Martynduerden

Posts: 3211
Joined: 13 July 2008

Originally posted by: westfield6

OK point taken. But more complicated RF distribution systems require careful signal measurements using equipment most sparks don't have. I've also seen poor quality coax used, especially in new builds, and wall plates fitted are often saddle and clamp types which are unsuitable in this day and age.


Lol, if you are worried about sparks installing poor rf systems you should see the electrical work aerial guys do.....

-------------------------
Regards

Martyn.

Only a mediocre person is always at their best



www.electrical contractors uk.com
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.