IET logo

IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Earthing cable, steel is forbiden?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11 January 2013 11:43 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11 January 2013 11:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Lucia

Hi,

I am new in this Forum. I am a spanichs electrical engineer. I have to plan a solar plant in England and I can not find the regulations of the cables for earthing systems. Someone can help me, please?

Greetings,

Lucia
 11 January 2013 12:30 PM

AJJewsbury

Welcome Lucia!

What you need is section 543 of BS 7671 - the IET Wiring Regulations.

There's no prohibition on using steel as such (in the UK it's common to use the steel armouring of cables as a protective earth), but there are some limitations - e.g. separate conductors of <10mm² have to be copper, and if buried in the ground it might have to be substantially larger than if it were copper.

- Andy.
 11 January 2013 12:37 PM

gkenyon

Assuming the plant is all "Low Voltage", then BS7671: 2008(2011) would typically apply as a minimum. Chapter 54 discussed requirements for Earthing Arrangements and Protective Conductors.

Depending on the size and application, other standards (typically referenced from BS7671) may well apply, e.g. BS7430.

You should also be aware that legally the Construction (Design & Management) Regulations is also likely to apply to the Design as well as Construction & Construction Management related to this work, in addition to other UK legislation.

-------------------------
Eur Ing Graham Kenyon CEng MIET
 11 January 2013 04:48 PM

Lucia

Thanks all of you.

I am glad to be in this Forum. It is the first time I see people talking online about electrical engineering and I LIKE